We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome in Yorkshire” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swinton Park

Save Saved
You added Swinton Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Swinton Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Ripon
Marlborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome in Yorkshire”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Our first winter stay at the Swinton Park Hotel on January 16th was everything we had hoped for and more. The grounds were truly breathtaking with a covering of snow. The room had a great view and facilities including the Spa were wonderful. The food was outstanding again and the attention to detail commendable. The steep driveway and carpark were ice free and having a member of staff de-ice my car was much appreciated. I would recommend the hotel to anyone who is visiting the area and it is certainly in our view among the best small hotels in the uk.

Room Tip: They are all good, but the Duke class rooms are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    523
    58
    14
    4
    7
See reviews for
73
392
11
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We stayed overnight for a 'Gourmet' night which included afternoon tea; wine-tasting; a cookery demonstration; champagne reception and a six course gourmet meal with matched wines. It was all wonderful. This is a real quality hotel with lovely staff, excellent food and beautiful grounds with lakes, woods and a very busy bird hide. We walked for over an hour in the deep snow around the frozen lakes, wearing wellies which were provided by the hotel. Marvellous. Our room was stunning (one of the 'Dukes') and we felt utterly treated here. Will definitely go back!

Room Tip: From talking to the other guests, all the rooms were spacious and lovely. We looked a the Turret sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

My very first review on tripadvisor having just joined this week, I think I will struggle to find anywhere better too!
Stayed here last week (Jan 24th & 25th) for a two day conference with my company and we once again all asked to return again next year for our 8th year running. The hotel is of the very highest standard in both facilities and cleanliness, but comes devoid of that "stuffy" feel you sometimes get in highly rated hotels.
On the contrary, you actually feel like you`re staying in a "Downton Abbey" style home, with all the staff welcoming you like you are extended family... really, this is the case. The food as ever, was sublime, using the finest ingredients and cooked to perfection each time, - we had bacon sandwiches on arrival, lunch (duck), dinner (fish & steak), breakfast (eggs Benedict) and lunch (the best Salmon I`ve had in my life) again. Not forgetting some excellent scones and muffins during breaks in our schedule. Because of all this food, the long walk some of us had around the superb grounds (grounds... all 200 acres of it!) before breakfast was most welcome.

The bedrooms are just heavenly, with every little touch thought of... and if what you want isn`t there, you are encouraged to ask. Also, importantly for me, the beer was in first rate order too (I know, I know, I`m called a heathen by my colleagues for not drinking wine... but with the Black Sheep brewery just down the road, I can`t think of anything better to drink at this place!)

I honestly cannot think of anything I could pick even the most minute fault with during my stay.
It is absolutely correct that it continues to get the reviews it thoroughly deserves, keep up the truly excellent work and service (which I know you will) and thanks once again, for a truly memorable stay!!!

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but the turrett suite is spectacular. I haven`t used the Spa, but I`ve heard goo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourne
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I have written a review for Swinton Park before and just wanted to say that it was equally as top a hotel as our previous visits. We were there in cold snowy conditions but the hotel was so warm, which is quite an achievement given the size of its rooms, it was so welcoming to walk into reception where there was a massive log fire to greet us, as there was in the restaurant and lounge. Dining there is a culinary delight. Swinton Park does try to provide everything you need and if there is anything they can do to improve they ask you to let them know. We have made many visits there now and it has been so consistent, you know next time is going to be great! Thanks to everyone at Swinton, we look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

For my 30th birthday I was treated to a weekend here from my sister. We were treated like royalty the whole time and felt so special. The treatments at the spa are fabulous and we had our own private spa for a hour!
The rooms are amazing and the attention to detail is perfect.
Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
323 reviews 323 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 128 cities Reviews in 128 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We bought a two night gastronomic weekend at a charity event. The booking was handled very well and we requested the Bradford room which we'd seen on the hotels website. It is a very nice room if a bit tired round the edges. The bathroom is very ordinary, but much of this derives from the shape of the original building. Bed was comfy, heating dodgy - but again, it's an old building I guess. Lovely views to two sides. That said, this was a weekend all about nosh. The dining room is quite superb - best room in the house, with a beautiful ceiling. Rather than ramble on about the food, let me just say it was all devine with excellent service. As it was a gastro weekend, there was a wine tasting both evenings which was fun. During the day, we had several 'sessions' in the cookery school - making truffles, canapes, learning about smoking fish and learning about vinegar - that was the surprise of the weekend. I never thought I'd consider putting raspberry vinegar in champagne! It's a good mix actually! Nearby Masham is worth a visit. We did the tour of the Black Sheep Brewery which was to long with a chap who loved the sound of his own voice too much. All in all, a fun weekend where you mix in with other guests who were all a good laaugh. This building isn't the poshest place you'll ever find - it's a rambling old home that's been converted - but you'll find it difficult to eat better for some distance.

Room Tip: Bradford has a nice view. Bathroom so-so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Go back in time and immerse yourself in the sybaritic luxury of a bygone era (with all modern amenities) in this converted Yorkshire castle. I agree with BrighousePete that it is not bad value but still expensive. But the hospitality and food are wonderful.

Any complaints? Well we wished that they would treat themselves to a few new CDs for the piped music loop. Nimrod for the 20th time became rather tedious and irritating.

Room Tip: Even the lower priced rooms are more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swinton Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.