We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A day to remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swinton Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Swinton Park to your Saves list
Swinton Park
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A day to remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012 via mobile

Had such a wonderful day at Swinton Park today, the Sunday Lunch was exceptional, the service immpecable and the surroundings like something from a fairy tale, I am looking forward to returning very soon. Thank you for making my birthday so special x

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    608
    79
    17
    6
    8
See reviews for
95
459
11
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just returned from this hotel after splashing out to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We stayed in the York suite. Reception was quick, efficient and friendly. The room was vast, very well equipped and maintained. Massive comfortable four poster type bed.
We ate in the hotels restaurant, Samuals. Both food and service were excellent.
Breakfast the following was full English and might just be the best I have ever had !
On the whole we were delighted with our choice. Pretty much faultless in all departments.

Room Tip: We stayed as mentioned in the York Suite and found it very quiet. Didnt hear a peep all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We stayed on a Saturday night in an Earl's room (middle of the range price). The room itself (Scarborough) was huge with a nice bathroom and pleasant extra touches like free gin and whiskey on a tray along with tea and coffee. The downside of this particular room is the hugely squeaky floorboard directly outside the door and the fact that you access the way to the spa there too. It can therefore all get a bit noisy!

Had a drink in the bar before dinner and then ate in Samuel's restaurant. The food was very tasty and well presented. Staff were attentive and friendly. We just felt the room, magnificent as it is, lacked the atmosphere we thought it would have. Maybe it was the fact that it wasn't full or the fact that the ceiling is so high. Either way we acknowledged that it would be fantastic for a large "do" like a wedding. In the morning it was lovely to look at the view through the huge windows. Breakfast was quite pleasant - my husband had the eggs Benedict, which he said was good. We felt the buffet was ok but not that imaginative.

The hotel does a lot of packages and actively welcomes families and also anyone who wants to bring their dogs - quite refreshing to see.

I feel I may sound a little underwhelmed in this review - we really did enjoy our stay but just can't put a finger on what is missing. It is a gorgeous house in a glorious spot so perhaps go and make your own minds up! I will read further reviews with interest.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Wonderful country house hotel set in beautiful countryside. Welcoming friendly and helpful staff (very rare of an English hotel!). Lovely well-equipped room with gorgeous bathrooms and Molton Brown toiletries....great!!!

Restaurant and bar both serve excellent food. Restaurant is quite expensive with a fixed £52 menu or £60 tasting menu (per person plus drinks and service!). Portions are quite small but the head waiter sneaked me in a portion of chips to go with my meal!

Spa seervices are good but not outstanding

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Whilst searching for a wedding venue we spent weeks and then months looking for something which represented both fairy tail wedding and value. In all honesty the exclusive use weekend was the most expensive thing we looked at but appeared to be the best value. In hindsight we look back at our stay, the experience, the wedding and everything else with such fondness that this place wasn't just good value, I would have saved up for another year if I'd known how superb it would be!

As groom I had the pleasure of greeting many friends and family and experiencing a reaction of such amazement from our guests.

4 months on, when we see friends and family we are constantly reminded by everyone what an amazing wedding and all-round experience everyone had enjoyed.

Sunday morning came and I both felt and sensed in others a strange feeling, this wonderful weekend was coming to an end. Some people including ourselves packed their cars, signed out and then went for a walk around just to stay that little bit longer.

I felt like I was moving from my childhood home and this is what will stay with me. It is like your best childhood memory.

This place has so many x-factor attributes you will only ever remember this place with the fondest of memories.
Thank you to everyone involved at swinton park!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We have been coming to Swinton Park for a few years now and never fail to be more than impressed. Right from the friendly reception, chatty porter to the unbelievable rooms we love it. We have tried all standards of rooms and are impressed by them all/ Food should surely be michelin starred but remember to leave a bit of room for a fantastic breakfast. We brought some friends with us this year for my husbands birthday and they were blown away . We wouldn't go anywhere else for that special break!

Room Tip: Any room is lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

We visited Swinton Park again for my husbands birthday and yet again; wow wow wow!!!

The hotel is amazing... We had the taster menu in Samuels and it was out of this world - the chef is so very clever!!! We also had the wine taster and this was also great...

We would stay here every weekend if we could - truly fantastic place...

Room Tip: All of the rooms we have stayed in are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swinton Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swinton Park

Address: Masham, Ripon HG4 4JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Swinton Park 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A luxury castle hotel set in 200 acres of landscaped parkland in the Yorkshire Dales that is the home of the Cunliffe-Lister family and the ancestral seat of the Earl of Swinton. Traditional warmth and hospitality, contemporary comforts and award winning cuisine, with a menu inspired by the produce sourced from the surrounding estate and 4 acre walled garden. Cookery School with day and residential courses running throughout the year. Exclusive use Spa (with Jacuzzi and sauna) and treatment rooms. Conference facilities and licensed for civil ceremonies. Families welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Swinton Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swinton Park Hotel Masham
Swinton Park Masham
Hotel Swinton Park

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swinton Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.