We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackamoor Inn

Blackamoor Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Blackamoor Inn to your Saves list
Blackamoor Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Boroughbridge Road, Ripon HG4 5AA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 16 Ripon B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Visited the black a moor earlier this week, having never eaten here before but been in for drinks. What a lovely surprie. It has been redecorated, had new signage put up, and had a change of management and Chef, and what a different thats made. I can just imagine cosying up in front of the fire on the huge squishy leather sofas in the bar - is going to be beautiful at Christmas (please decoate it tastefully!!)

The food was beautiful. I had the chicken dish with artichoke, spring onion, sweetcorn, and mushrooms (all different) and it was beautiful - chicken is often a boring dish and frequently dry and overcooked, but this was wonderfully moist - the flavours from the sweetcorn in the jus went surprisingly well, and mushroom selection was great.

For dessert, i cant reccommend enough the Apple & Pumpkin Crumble. I was slightly dubious at first, as i wasnt sure how it would taste, but i can safely say ill be trying this one at home! It was lovely and autumnal, with cinnamon through it. Perfect for those cold winter evenings! We also had the sticky toffee pudding, which is lovely too, but the crumble wins hands down.

I have read some of the negative reviews on here, and on speaking to the staff its only been under new management with the new chef for about 2 months, so please do give it time! Will definitly be coming back soon (Steak and Ale pie next time, it looked fab!)

Room Tip: Try to book in advance as it seems to be getting busier!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    16
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
20
23
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Ate here when first taken over for Sunday lunch. Twelve of us and lunch for one course was £11.50. Quite a lot for one course. The roast consisted of two slices of fatty beef, three quarters of roast potatos and three spoonfuls of various veg, small yorkshire. Not worth it. Called again this week hoping for improvements but alas no. Only had a sandwich. No choice of bread and were told it came with salad and chips. It came with a dry harvester roll and what was described as rare beef slightly overcooked, just lettuce and about ten chips. Dissapointing. The food needs definite improvement as it has nice decor and atmosphere but please improve on the catering side as this is what brings in the customers and if it is good they will be back, and word of mouth is important.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I have just been back with my family for the second time in a week. I had not been in there for some years, but decided to give it a try as it was under new management - good decision. The new landlord and the new chef who has been recruited from an award winning restaurant are really trying to make it that little bit different with new décor and menus. On both occasions we found the service to be good and most welcoming. The meals are very reasonably priced and very good value for both the quality and quantity of the food. The menus for both lunch and dinner give a great variety of options and all served with that little twist to make them different from usual pub fare menu. If visiting Ripon Racecourse it is within walking distance or if just approaching Ripon from the A1 it is well worth stopping, there is an ample car park to the rear.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

First time in the Blackamoor since it has been under new management. Overall impression was excellent, the place is smart and relaxing, the staff friendly and welcoming. We went to have a meal on a Thursday night and were not disappointed, for the £20-25 per head price the value for money was excellent. I had Scallop, Chorizo and Black Pudding to start, it was well presented, and more importantly very well cooked. We also had the chicken liver pate, easy to be bland but this was a fine balance of flavour, texture and perfect seasoning. We both ordered the Pork Belly for main, again a very well presented and balanced plate of food. The pork was tender and full flavoured with crunchy crackling, as it should be. What made the meal so good was the choice of wine that the manager recommended, this is clearly where the Blackamoor scores as his choices were every bit as good as a sommelier in a high end restaurant. Desert of white chocolate and citrus cheesecake was good but the least memorable of the courses. Overall, a very enjoyable meal offering excellent value. The Blackamoor has bags of potential with it's capable and motivated new management team, I anticipate it will go from strength to strength and I look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very poor service from the waitresses. I asked one of the girles what sauces were available to accompany the steak, she didnt know so went off to find out. She returned sometime later with a little list that she was unable to read! After half an hour we had to ask for someone to take out order we ordered food and drinks, after 15 mins had to ask a different waitress for the drinks. After 35 mins we were told that they were having problems with the oven and our meals would be another 10 mins. Overall the food was dull and dissapointing the steak was good the tomatoe was undercooked as was the garlic and the chips had been recooked once to often. We did tell the manager how dissapointed we were and he said he would pass it on to the management.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Checkout the Black A Moor now under new management & much better than before in every area. Mark & his team offer a warm & friendly atmosphere with food to die for (Don't miss out on the Sunday Lunch) A pub with a difference, here the customer does come first.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Now light & bright, compared to what the inside was like some time ago. Staff, friendly & helpful. Perhaps wouldn't have chosen the courses I did with out the encouragment from the manager,(very nice guy, Mark) Very glad I did, The funny combinations really worked well, delicious. Much much better than "pub grub". A lovely place to have a lovely meal. I have no doubt that we will go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackamoor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackamoor Inn

Address: Boroughbridge Road, Ripon HG4 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackamoor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo so you can book your Blackamoor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackamoor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.