We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Sunday Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Staveley Arms

The Staveley Arms
Just Off Main Road | North Stainley, Ripon, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 62 Restaurants in Ripon
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Beautifully refurbished property offering a blend of English traditional and Mediterranean food in stylish surroundings. With separate dining areas offering private dining for functions, parties and special events
Doncaster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Easter Sunday Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

I took my family here, for a special Easter Sunday lunch. There were 3 adults and children aged 11, 7, and 5 years old. We couldn't have asked for a better meal. It was hot, tasty and there was plenty to eat. The children's meals were as big as the adults. The chef was eager to please, and continually refreshed the carvery.
Excellent value, with pleasant surroundings and staff.
Very well worth a visit

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    96
    29
    15
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

A vast barn of a place opened internally up for the mass Sunday Lunch market. During the week rather soulless but this is made up for the fact the new owners enthusiasm augers well for the future. Worth a repeat visit.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

A fantastic Sunday carvery with the best Yorkshire puddings ever ( freshly made not the usual warmed up rubbish ) cauliflower cheese and creamed leeks made the vegetables a bit more special than the usual carvery . Maybe a bit more expensive than other we have tried but definitely the best :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery and an evening with a difference!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

An excellent Sunday Carvery. All three meats were cooked to perfection and a nice choice of vegetables with the biggest home made Yorkshire puddings I've ever had. Unfortunately ate too much to try the desserts. Will let you know next time. Went back in the evening and the customers were taking part in a cooking competition. It was scones this month. Some very good entries and I got to taste them all. They are doing curry next month and it's open to everyone. This could be a good night out once a month.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester-le-Street, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Had a delicious Sunday lunch here with my family, we came here a couple of years ago and it was the best carvery I had ever had, and I was nt disappointed when I went back. Tender meat and a large selection of vegetables( not just the same old boring stuff you get ever where else) would recommend this place to anyone visiting ripon or surrounding area. The chef who served us was very friendly and made us feel welcome.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Staveley Arms also viewed

 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Staveley Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Staveley Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.