We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited but well thought out menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace Restaurant and Bar

The Terrace Restaurant and Bar
2-4 The Skellbank, Ripon HG4 2PT, England (Formerly The Terrace Pasta & Pizza Bar)
01765 607053
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 62 Restaurants in Ripon
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Ripon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Limited but well thought out menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Excellent value for money and lovely food, we really liked the way you can choose the pasta and sauce of choice rather than just having a set meal definitely worth a visit

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    19
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Another great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

I visited The Terrace 4 weeks ago, early doors on a Saturday. I took 3 friends with me from out of the area. We ate some fabulous food, we all choose different dishes from the menu, tasting each others, the wine was delicious. A very friendly atmosphere and found the waiters very helpful. will definately visit again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012 via mobile

Cengo and Kath, hope you had a terrific holiday. As i warned, if a little later than planned, here's my review: I Took some friends along to the Terrace for a visit on Saturday 12 May to my favourite Italain in Ripon. Atmosphere great, excellent company and the food championed it all, particularly the cannelloni! My sicilian compatriots thought their pizzas were fab, and the home-made tiramisu the best outisde of Sicilia. I will be back Cengo to a restaurant where si puo mangiare benissimo! Complimenti.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

What a complete let down and disappointment.. After the the first visit which was very poor (the food was inedible, paid the bill and left) did mention to a waiter we weren't happy with what had been served to us, but unfortunately nothing was done or said to rectify it.... A while later decided to try again. Only to confirm our dissatisfaction once again, despite the lack of starters to choose from we made our order.... It came!..... Both dishes (one cannelloni and one lasagne) looked identical. At this point we willed for them to taste better than they looked. But sadly no was tasteless and watery! I've had better ready meals, never the less carried on through desert (homemade) sorry to say in no way were the deserts we were served homemade! In a nut shell avoid and go else where. 

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm, friendly, lovely atmosphere and great food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This place has been numerous things in the past via different owners- a pub, a bar and even other restaurants, but has never made an impression. However, the new owners have really made an effort to make this restaurant nice and it shows - the decor is lovely and tasteful, with nice lighting, a log fire and little touches everywhere. The staff were welcoming and friendly and provided a great service all evening without being too pushy. The food was reasonably priced and tasted fantastic - my parents commented on the generous size of the pasta portions and said that the vegetables tasted fresh and full of flavour. I had a pizza and it was one of the best I've had in a while. There is also a brilliant outdoor decking area which will be great for the summer. I am going again this weekend and would really recommend a visit to other people.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 
Ripon, North Yorkshire
Ripon, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Terrace Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.