We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Partridge size plate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ripon Spa Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ripon Spa Hotel to your Saves list
The Ripon Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A Partridge size plate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We wanted a couple of days to look around local historical sites and Ripon seemed to be a good central spot. The Ripon Spa Hotel had mainly good reviews, so booked for 2 nights. I did not know Ripon very well so it took us a while to find the hotel, but when we did, it had a large car park. Friendly receptionist on booking in, and a lovely large room, with a great view of the gardens at the rear. About a 10 minute walk to town, plenty of shops, places to eat and a good number of pubs. A great comfy and quiet nights sleep.
Went down for the self service breakfast, had the cereal, then went for the cooked breakfast. The breakfast plate was massive (Alan Partridge would of been happy), pilled on lovely local sausage, egg, local bacon and a massive mushroom. The food was great but because the plate was so big, pilled on a bit too much, set us up for the day. The hotel has it's own bar but we did not use it as we wanted to visit the pubs from The Good Beer Guide ( The Water Rat, The One Eyed Rat and The Magdalens all worth a visit).
Overall lovely would stay again, but some parts, ie, the window frames could do with a bit of touching up.

Room Tip: Ask for a rear room, beware of the BIG breakfast plate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thanks for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your trip to Ripon and your hearty breakfast!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    156
    54
    29
    6
See reviews for
78
235
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sandbach, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

Just returned from a 3 night stay at our favourite hotel and everything as excellent as ever. We always feel relaxed here in the beautiful surroundings, the lawns and gardens are immaculate ready for the next croquet competition and it was wonderful to sit and have drinks on the terrace in the sunshine. But most importantly the staff are outstanding, nothing too much trouble for them and the service for breakfast and in the restaurant faultless. We'd like to thank all the staff for making our stay so memorable and will see you again soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you from all the staff for posting your review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Lovely friendly staff delicious food did find dust but nothing to write home about watched to much four in a bed the windows could really do with renewing but would probably take away from the character, the gardens and croquet lawn are a lovely place to sit i would definitely recommend this hotel and stay again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Thank you for your review and we do hope you will stay again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Firstly, and perhaps most disturbingly, our room smells like a public toilet. I think that says it all. It's much more like a retirement home than a hotel, in fact, I'm sure my recent hospital stay was much more pleasant than this. Furniture appallingly old and faded. Smells like damp, rotten broken windows, ripped wallpaper. Dust and dirt. Appalling for the price.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Firstly we are a traditional 3* hotel situated peacefully in landscaped gardens and croquet lawns, a short stroll from the centre of the ancient City of Ripon, and we welcome guests of all ages.

Secondly and most importantly we are truly sorry that your stay was so disappointing. We did have a bit of a damp problem in one of the rooms after the “April showers” all came in May! This was quickly rectified but after your comments we have asked the contractor to revisit and double check. We usually get good reviews for our standards of housekeeping, but admittedly our refurbishment programme is running behind schedule.

Again, sorry to have disappointed you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

A lovely place straight out of the early 1900s era. We took our dog with us and we had a very nice couple of days rest. The service and the food were both excellent, the rooms were spacious and clean
Thank you

Room Tip: Rooms the back overlook the lawns
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for your review and so glad to hear you enjoyed a nice couple of days rest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

This is an old fashioned and slightly shabby hotel, several decades past its prime. I think the hotel prides itself on being 'dog friendly', as I came across at least two on the stairs or in the corridors. The bedroom was a reasonable size but worn, cold and with small, uncomfortable twin beds. A poor night's sleep was not helped by the fact that I was woken by guests in the room above, coming in late. Fortunately there were no banging headboards as I'm not sure the beds could take it (but given the advanced age of most of the residents this was probably unlikley anyway). The bathroom had a retro-fitted electric power shower, difficult to control and so noisy that it probably woke up half of Ripon (sorry!). The 'highlight' of the stay was dinner in the restaurant. This was a race weekend in Ripon, so it was somewhat surprising to find only two other people in the restaurant (an elderly couple). Service got off to a poor start with the two waitresses rolling their eyes and swearing at each other under their breath (''ffs''). From that point on, everything was just a little bit too much trouble. A botlle of champagne ordered before the meal arrived late (and champagne glasses arrived even later). Ordered steak (''we've run out''). Dessert? ''it's over there in the corner''. The 'selection of five cheeses and biscuits' sounded good, but turned out to be the dried-up remnants of two cheeses - some more was eventually and reluctantly brought from the kitchen. Or from the shop down the road. Or possibly even from the farm 20 miles away. For a hotel of this size the wine list is spectacularly limited - three reds and three whites, if I remember correctly. Only - you guessed it - they had run out of one of the whites. We would have drunk a lot more wine if the waitresses had shown the slightest interest in anything except getting home to watch Britain's Got Talent. The restaurant was being set for breakfast before we finshed our meal (at the not unreasonable time of 9:30). You want coffee? there's a jug of dubious brown liquid and some out of date chocolate mints in another room down the corridor - you'll have to serve yourselves.....The only redeeming feature was that the restaurant food was actually pretty good. Old-fashioned hotel food, but cooked well. I had planned to stay for breakfast, but those two waitresses were back and the thought of more 'service' and the awful coffee changed my mind. I checked out quickly and made my escape. I would have given this hotel a single star, but the food was pretty good and the service in the restaurant was so bad it was actually funny. I am still wondering if this was some sort of TV prank show,,,,,,an extra star for the free entertainment, anyway.

Room Tip: Try another hotel in the local area
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, General Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Dear DoctorToxic

Sorry for the inconvenience! One of the members of staff concerned with this no longer works here and it’s certainly not the type of behaviour we tolerate. I also notice after some research that you were part of a larger group and the organiser who settled the bill filled in a questionnaire ticking excellent or good for the service and food 4 times!! So sadly this seems to be an isolated incident which we do take very seriously indeed. As you can see, our reviews are very good and I am sad that one or two members of staff allowed their personal issues to be aired in public. Thank you very much indeed for drawing this to my attention and as you can see we have acted swiftly in response to your comments.
Yours sincerely
Samantha Thompson MD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lovely weather meant we were able to sit out quite late and enjoy the splendid, well kept gardens, watch many species of birds and drink the incredibly pleasant, and very cheap, house wine. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. Huge investment needed to update bedrooms and reception rooms but when the weather is good all of this fades into insignificance. We will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor are more spacious than those on second.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thanks for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ripon Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.