We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but could be improved” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ripon Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Ripon Spa Hotel to your Saves list
The Ripon Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice but could be improved”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a large Edwardian hotel with very grand public rooms with high ceilings and has retained various architectural features such as decorative coving, columns etc. It has extensive well maintained grounds to the rear including (I think) 5 croquet courts ! It adjoins and has access to colourful, charming municipal gardens, overlooks a park to the front too and is a short walk from the market square. It was surprisingly clean inside though inevitably given its age the exterior needs some attention. We found the food was well presented but were disappointed the menu was the same for all 3 evenings and for some reason which we couldn't pinpoint we didn't look forward to the meals. It seemed the great majority of people didn't have dinner which I suggest is something the hotel should try to address. The first night we ate in the Bistro bar and this was hugely disappointing as it felt really dingy with dark furniture and poor lighting. Maybe this coloured our subsequent view of the food. There is a big terrace bar room that was empty / unused throughout our stay which was a shame as it could be a great asset (maybe it is used for weddings / functions as it links to the adjoining restaurant / ballroom). The last night we were one of only about 5 groups eating in this very impressive and huge restaurant / ballroom. The staff were pleasant and one particular person was very thoughtful. I suspect many are quite long serving. Our greatest sadness concerned the public rooms. With the exception of the smaller pub like bistro they are all very impressive spaces but they desperately need the attention of a skilled interior designer. I recommend clearing out the different types of carpets, dark furniture, thick net curtains, old pictures, poor old fashioned lighting and attending to the different coloured walls etc. With a modern colour co-ordinated design and improved furnishings / lighting plus further thought about rooms usage I think the whole place would be completely transformed while still being respectful to the architectural inheritance. It was noticeable that hardly anyone sat in the lounges etc. which I think was due to the current situation. I don't want this review to be seen as being critical but rather constructive because it is clear the management do care about improving things and have invested in certain areas. Given its age it would have been easy to let the hotel decline beyond economic repair. It is recognised that my proposal would involve a very significant investment and be risky but it is surely the way to go. Hopefully customers could then be encouraged to include dinner and linger downstairs (maybe by having a pianist etc.). I really want this historic hotel to succeed and wish management all the best in their endeavours.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thanks for the constructive criticism!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    146
    52
    27
    5
See reviews for
72
212
16
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

The room was quiet, clean, spacious and well-equipped with a good view over the well-kept gardens and croquet courts.

The staff could not have been more helpful and obliging.

The hearty breakfasts negated the need for lunch!

Room Tip: Room on 2nd floor overlooking gardens was large, quiet and bright
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you and hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Celebrating one of life's little milestones meant we had to return to the Ripon Spa once again as we always have such a relaxing and welcoming stay. This visit was no exception. If, as we found, a band playing on the nearby bandstand surrounded with families having picnics in the warm sunshine and cathedral bells chiming in the distance makes you nostalgic for days gone by then the Spa fits into this idyll. The service is of the old fashioned style where no request is too much trouble and staff are polite and friendly. We are finding that we are having to return more and more frequently to help shut out the turmoils of modern life. Harness the hotel for what it is...a good, solid, charming part of provincial England and you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Thank you for saying you always have a relaxing and welcoming stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

After reading reviews was so looking forward to this hotel but was very disappointed, Hotel run down on outside, terrace could be nice if clean chairs were provided to sit on. Inside hotel was dark and again needed updating. Room small and dark. Never had evening meal but breakfast was average, Check out time could be up till 11,though cleaners not keen on a late checkout!!!!
Although hotel well situated near town and swimming baths was overpriced and wont be returning!!!!.

Room Tip: Avoid room 68!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
So very sorry to disappoint, especially as this is one of our contemporary rooms as advertised on the website. Check-out is 11am and it would never be our intention to rush any guest out before that time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minster on Sea
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stopped here overnight while visiting relatives who live nearby - it is really central and everything is within walking distance.
From the outside (car park view) this hotel looks rather run down, and inside it is perhaps a little old fashioned, but do not let that put you off. The welcome is warm, the rooms are spacious and have everything you need and the gardens and croquet lawns at the back are quite lovely.
We didn't spend much time at the hotel but on returning hungry at 10.30pm the bar staff went out of their way to make us sandwiches with crisps and salad, and then left us in the bar with the TV and remote!
Breakfast was super and I had a lovely morning walk in the grounds and the next door park.
Will definitely be stopping here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for your review and I hope you will be as pleased as we are that our gardens have been awarded silver-gilt in this year's Ripon in Bloom competition!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Although our bedroom was in need of renovation the view of the gardens at the back was lovely, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was great with a large, good- sized bath. The breakfast was excellent -the best I had on my trip to the UK. Good choice of food from the menu and also a hot buffet, frequently freshly refilled. Unlike some hotels where the food is left sitting under hot lamps. Locally sourced food- excellent saussages! A 10 minute walk into town.
Don't forget to ask for your free voucher for Fountains Abbey. I thought it was a discount voucher but was pleasantly surprised, on producing the voucher ,that we got in free.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thanks for your review and I think it was your lucky day as the voucher scheme is only meant to offer discounted admission!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Just returned from a two night stay. My wife and I attended the wedding of a friends daughter in the hotel. The staff were excellent and very attentive. The food was delicious, I think I can honestly say that the wedding breakfast was the best I have ever had. We also ate in the bar on Sunday evening and the meal was superb.
The hotel itself was a little old looking, our room wasn't enormous but adequate, the paintwork on the windows needed redoing. The gardens are lovely and Ripon Spa and swimming pool is next door. A short walk leads you into the city and the beautiful cathedral. Nearby is Fountains Abbey and Newby Hall both of which are worth viewing.
Overall our stay was great.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you, it was a lovely wedding!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ripon Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.