We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location, just needs a few tweaks.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ripon Spa Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Ripon Spa Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ripon Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Ripon
Yorkshire
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great location, just needs a few tweaks.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here for a visit to the racecourse in April.

Room was quite nice, overlooked the gardens. Tea/coffee facilities / tv / clean bathroom, nice basic twin room. Easy & quick check in/out and the breakfast was very nice.

Great location, 2 min walk from Ripon Centre and about 20 min walk to the races if you fancy it / 2 minutes in a taxi

My only complaint was our room was extremely hot / couldnt open the windows or find any heating controls to turn down the heat. Couldnt really get much sleep due to this.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Thanks for your review. All the bedroom radiators have individual thermostatic controls - sorry you didn't realise this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    129
    46
    24
    5
See reviews for
59
185
15
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We have had Sunday lunch at the Ripon Spa restaurant on a number of occasions, and each time the food has been excellent, last Sunday, our Wedding anniversary, was no exception. The main course roast was of a very high quality, my wife said the pork crackling was the best she had ever tasted! The choice of cold deserts is always excellent, luckily, you can have more than one! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Thanks for choosing The Ripon Spa Hotel to celebrate your wedding anniversary and thanks for recommending our Sunday lunch - it is rather good! .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed for three nights , a lovely room overlooking the well tended gardens.
As always a great place to stay, really friendly staff , nothing is to much trouble , good atmosphere and food in the Turf Bar and the breakfasts are brilliant .
Plenty of parking space and the delights of Ripon are only a five minute walk from the hotel.
The park next to the Hotel had a brass band playing which was a nice bonus. There is a nice walk to Fountains Abbey which can be done starting at the hotel.
A great Hotel to stay at when visiting Yorkshire , stay here and you will not be disappointed.
It is good to see independent Hotels like this thriving and doing what they do so well.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
What a good advertisement for the hotel - thank you very much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We booked to stay here for two night to go to the races. This is a great hotel. As previous reviews say, yes it needs some updating but the old fashioned decor adds to its charm. The only bit of updating really is the windows. The staff were extremely helpful all weekend, booking a taxi for us and very informative. Comfortable beds, good sized bathroom and our room had a great view of the immaculately maintained and extensive gardens. We had a very enjoyable bar meal one evening and the breakfast was excellent, nothing was too much trouble. The restaurant manager, like all the staff, was very polite and attentive. We plan to return to Ripon and we will definitely stay at the Ripon Spa.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your stay - hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castleford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

This was booked for a race meeting we checked and the reception was very helpful telling us about what's on the room was lovely and clean with stunning views of the lawn at the back the bathroom was almost as big as the room there was no problems with cold as the rooms were nice and warm breakfast was buffet style and the waiter was really helpful overall it made our stay in ripon delightful this hotel comes highly recommended and me and my wife will defiantly return

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thanks, hope to welcome you back before the end of racing this year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for two nights, with my son who is a regular business guest. A hotel with character. Yes, it's old and yes it needs some refurbishment, but what the heck - it's comfortable. Every staff member we met was friendly and welcoming and had a knowledge of the hotel's history, especially the restaurant manager, Phillip. It was great to find out that many of the staff had been loyal employees for decades! What team spirit and a credit to the management!

We enjoyed our breakfasts, delicious bacon and sausages, and the staff were attentive and cheerful. We relaxed on the terrace, watching the croquet. I did a little research here and discovered the director's connection with this sport! Interesting! She was friendly and cheerful too.

We'll definitely be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Ripon Spa Hotel Croquet Club is actually celebrating its 20th birthday this year! Samantha, MD, says see you on the courts during your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Hubby booked last minute deal, and it was fab. Staff were very friendly and accomodating. We had a lovely meal in the resturant, after we had been to the races, and it was really really nice, rooms lovely and clean, and breakfast was great, help yourself to a full english, all served in big brass bread bay-maries. Yes the hotel maybe old fashioned, and yes it may need an update, but for us the staff, cleanliness and food makes it a brilliant place to stay, especialy for the races.
We will defo be going back next year, to here, and the races.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thanks for saying we are a brilliant place to stay, especially for the races!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ripon Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.