We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel private dinner party for 90 people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ripon Spa Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Ripon Spa Hotel to your Saves list
The Ripon Spa Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ripon, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hotel private dinner party for 90 people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

Excellent 3 x course dinner in convival suroundings Oct 2011, Good service - but the roast beef, locally sourced and cooked to perfection, was something the hotel should be very proud of ...everyone.(but everyone) remarked on the excelent meal and particularly the beef course. Congratulations to the new chef.
Di - Local from Ripon area

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
We don't have a new chef but thank you very much.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    243
    156
    54
    29
    6
See reviews for
78
235
16
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

I return to this hotel frequently. The staff are invariably friendly and helpful and the food , always good, has improved recently and the selection and value for money is excellent. Most of the food is locally sourced and there is a good selection of wines at reasonable prices. The rooms are comfortable and generally quiet. The level of comfort throughout the hotel is good and log fires on autumn days provide a warm welcome.

Room Tip: just ask when booking for your special requirements and the staff will do their best to accommodate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2011
Thank you for your review and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We came back to the Spa for a relaxing break for my wife's birthday. We particularly appreciated the roaring log fire in the lounge as dismal weather spoiled our original plans for long walks with our dogs in the countryside. However, an afternoon with tea, newspapers and a warm fire made up for that disappointment. It is this homely comfort and charm which we find so appealing about the Spa Hotel. Staff are approachable and helpful and it is reassuring to see the owners constantly moving around the place. Our room was comfortable and we ate very pleasant meals in the Turf bar each night. Not having to rush off we booked in for Sunday lunch which is a great tradition at the hotel. Again we were not disappointed but did miss the joint being carved from the trolley at the table as used to happen when we first stayed there many years ago. The Spa is an oasis of tranquillity from the hustle and bustle and would make a perfect venue for a relaxing break - especially if, like us, you don't want to leave canine companions at home.

Room Tip: Give the receptionist your requirements and let her choose for you - they are eager to please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2011
Thank you and so pleased to hear you enjoyed a relaxing weekend - hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We went (again) for and excellent meal. With the bonus of fabulous weather we chose to eat on the terrace overlooking well kept gardens and we watched the croquet. We stayed late into the evening and were lucky enough to watch an owl in the mature trees that frame the gardens. The choice of food was excellent and alot was locally sourced. It was great value to with a bottle of house wine F.O.C. if two adults had two courses. The service was second to none with attentive but discrete staff and nothing was too much bother. We took our 5 year old and they were great with him. I would recommend this restaurant to families and couples alike. Can highly recommend the fish platter as a shared started or an enourous meal for the hungry amongsth you.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2011
Thank you so much and we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The hotel has lots of character and we enjoyed the personal touch. Nothing was too much trouble, very clean and the meal we had was delicious.Pleasant couple of days in Ripon and surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
336 reviews 336 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
158 helpful votes 158 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

This is the 2nd time that we've stayed at this hotel (not out of choice...only because no other accom available in Ripon). It is lovely building from the outside, but is in need of abit of a clean. Inside is tired, dull and has that smell of an old hotel! Our room was a good size, but was in need of a refurb. The quality of the room did not merit the £125 B&B rate. However, on a positive the bed was extremely comfy and we did get a v good sleep. Breakfast was very good quality and a good choice. I ordered a ham and mushroom omelette and was given a ham omelette. I didn't mention anything as it was very tasty even without the mushrooms. I would have enjoyed my stay more if I had felt that I had got value for money. If the rate was closer to £85 B&B for a weekend night stay, then that would have been fine. I will be trying not to return to this hotel. Probably the strangest experience was coming back from our breakfast at 9.30am to find a young, drunk guy hovering outside our room door. He didn't talk to us, but just acted very strangely (with a glass of alcohol in his hand!). We mentioned him to a chamber maid who informed us that he lived and worked there! I suggested that he was off putting to guests and not the type of image that I think the hotel would want to portray.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Please rest assured the actions of that particular member of staff are being looked into, and needless to say he is mortified by his behaviour, and the matter is being dealt with appropriately. I am so sorry that you have had this experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We went back to the Ripon Spa for the 3rd time and were welcomed like old friends. Our dogs were made very welcome too. I cannot fault this hotel, very comfortable beds,we slept very well. The gardens are very pretty and well kept. The food is delicious too....It is an old fashioned hotel and does everything in keeping with its image especially the service. The staff are friendly, polite and cannot do enough to make sure you have everything you need. I would happily recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MDSecretary, Guest Relations Manager at The Ripon Spa Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2011
Thank you for your review, I am pleased your enjoyed your stay with us, and hope you will return for many more visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ripon Spa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ripon Spa Hotel

Address: Park Street, Ripon HG4 2BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ripon Spa Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Ripon Spa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ripon Hotel Ripon
Best Western Ripon Hotel
Ripon Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ripon Spa Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.