We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden
Ripon HG4 3DY, England
44-1765-608-888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Ripon
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Burnley
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Faultless”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We went to Fountains Abbey and Studley Water Garden to see the snowdrops, we were not disappointed seeing a lovely display. The day we went was in perfect weather to see the Abbey in all its majesty, a truly magnificent building. We had our lunch in the Cafe at the entrance opposite the National Trust Building. The Cafe is really excellent and must be visited, the staff are excellent and the food very good value

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    924
    162
    18
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“"A great day out "”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We have visited Fountains Abbey several times. Our last visit was on the 2nd February and we were lucky to have a sunny day. The view looking down on the lake was fantastic. The Abbey ruins are well worth a visit . We visited the Abbey in the summer and found it was a very popular spot for families with young children enjoying themselves. For those who like walking, there is a very pleasant stroll from the Lakeside Cafe , crossing over the weir, through the valley crossing over the five bridges, eventually turning left through the Deer Park to return to the lake. There are usually several deer in the park. The walk is approx. 2 - 3 miles. The visitor centre has free car parking, a restaurant and shop both worth a visit. It is a delightful day out for any age group.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great for any time of year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Following the terrible weather we needed to get out and this was a great place for a first outing of the year. It was sunny and cold but we started with a fabulous lunch on site and the took in the abbey tour which lasted over 2 hours and was entertaining and informative throughout. We will return in good weather but if it is dry I would recommend it to anyone with an interest in history.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It is always good- now it is very good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

I always enjoy a visit to Fountains Abbey. To wander in the grounds gives one a sense of peace and although there are always lots of cars in the car park sometimes it seems as if you are the only person there.
What an improvement in the visitors' centre restaurant. I am always a little dubious about buying anything which is open to the elements and peoples' coughs and sneezes. On a visit recently I was so pleased to see that nearly everything is now under cover and the open space as you walk in is now used to its full advantage with delicious cakes and biscuits on display and easy to select.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Fascinating Abbey and pleasant gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Visited Fountains Abbey as part of a day trip from Harrogate also taking in Ripon and its Cathedral. Very tranquil location and beautiful abbey ruins which have been in a number of period dramas. Then a pleasant walk to the Studley Royal Water Garden.
You could easily spend an hour or two walking round, and some people even had picnic beside the abbey. The further from the abbey, the quieter it is.
Well worth seeing.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.