We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden

Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden
Ripon HG4 3DY, England
44-1765-608-888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 13 Attractions in Ripon
Type: Ancient Ruins, Historic Sites, Missions, Gardens, Outdoors
Attraction details
Den Haag
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“amazing...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

Beautiful park with very impressive ruins. We had sunny whether which made the entire day very enjoyable. Plenty of food and beverage facilities around the park, so you won't go hungry. The abbey itself is amazing and it's a joy to walk around its ruins. Do not miss the view from Anne Boleyns seat; It's the best!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

977 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    799
    151
    13
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pontefract, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“arguably the most beautiful site in europe on a sunny day.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

the most tranquil beautiful place i have been. not advertised enough as im from newcastle and didnt experience fountains abbey until i was 33, absolutly loved it. better than glastonbury!

Visited June 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Excellent day out - definately go again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2011

Fountains Abbey and the surrounding gardens make for a great day (or part of it) of relaxation. The Abbey itself is imposing even as a ruin, and gives the visitor a wonderful sense of calm and a steady walk by the river tops it off. Enjoyable for children too as there are hosts of hiding places and areas to explore.

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

We took our 7 week old baby for a day out. It was very enjoyable. Even though we went in autumn, the gardens were lovely with the autumn colours and we had a very enjoyable walk. The abbey is very interesting.

We ate in the cafe - very family friendly and the food was of a high standard.

We will definitely be returning.

Visited October 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Bowden, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
180 reviews 180 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Awe-inspiring”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2010

As National Trust members we've visited several of their properties around the country, but this has to be one of the best. The ruined abbey is on a scale that would be a major construction project even today, and the fact that parts - such as the arched culverts and bridges - are still functioning after 800 years is a testament to the skill of the craftsmen who built them. The site remains evocative of the time when large numbers of monks and lay brothers lived and worked here. The water gardens are impressive too, but the old abbey is what stays with you after your visit.

If there's a free guided tour available when you visit, do join it - we learned so much more by doing so, thanks to an excellent and well-informed guide.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden also viewed

Settle, Yorkshire Dales National Park
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Helmsley, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountains Abbey and Studley Royal Water Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.