We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lavender House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ripon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lavender House
Save
You added Lavender House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   28, College Road, Ripon HG4 2HA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 Ripon B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Bill and Barbara made us very welcome in their elegantly furnished home. The spacious bedroom with a very comfortable wide bed - and jolly tasty carrot cake on the tea tray - had a memorable Victorian themed bathroom dedicated to it, with a touch of Paris and pink fresh flowers. It was a treat to soak in the roll top bath admiring the fireplace!
The cooked English (or should I say Yorkshire!) Breakfast was excellent in the dining room where we shared a table with the other couple who seemingly had been as happy with their stay as we had.

We were visiting Ripon to attend a wedding at Fountains Abbey - taxi there and back was about £22.

We are happy to recommend Lavender House to others! (And the stylish double decker No 36 bus from Ripon to Harrogate Rail Station!)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Teesside
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We loved it and we will be back. The bedroom was amazing, the hospitality second to none. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

I stayed at the Lavender House B&B while visiting North Yorkshire with friends. The stay was relaxing and comfortable with large rooms and luxurious bathrooms. The proprietors, Mr and Mrs Cross, were wonderful hosts and the breakfast was a bountiful feast. I highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

We love staying in good B & B's and this is really one of the top one's to stay. I don't think I need say more. Go and find out as we did.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

We booked into Lavender House for an overnight stay for a friend's wedding. We wanted to treat ourselves to a little bit of luxury and stay in a nice bed and breakfast after such a long drive. We were not dissapointed!
We stayed in Fountains room which to our joy looked exactly like it did on the pictures on the website; huge, bright and very tastefully decorated.
The enormous bathroom was also a delight with a big power shower and a wonderful roll top bath in the middle of the room.
Bill and Barbara are both very friendly and made us feel very welcome in their home and cooked a very tasty breakfast.
There was also nice touches that you would not expect in a B&B such as bathrobes, hairdryer and mosturisers etc.
Definitely worth it's 4 stars awarded by AA and would reccomend this place to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in Yorkshire.

Room Tip: The
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scot on the run
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

Difficult to add anything to what's already been written. We particularly liked the space, the fantastically comfortable bed and the delicious food. Suffice to say, this is a top quality B&B with charming proprietors. Go there!

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We had only one night at Lavender House and would happily return . The hosts were friendly and attentive, the breakfast was locally sourced and delcious (including home made bread) and cooked to order. Bill and Barbara also gave good advice on eating places in Ripon .
The bedroom was beautiful, large and airy, tastefully decorated and immaculately clean. And the bed was enormous ! and very comfortable. The bathroom was also first class, with lots of nice smellies to use and lovely thick white towels.
This was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lavender House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lavender House

Address: 28, College Road, Ripon HG4 2HA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lavender House 4*
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lavender House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.