We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greta value, comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Royal Oak to your Saves list
The Royal Oak
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   36 Kirkgate, Ripon HG4 1PB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Greta value, comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2011

Enjoyed 3 nights here and have a voucher to go back. The rooms are small but very clean, the style is modern and traditional, has a boutique hotel feel it. the hotel prices are very good, breakfast included a large selecton of tasty food. we were worried that iw would be noisy as our room overlooked the street but it wasnt. we ate in the hotel restuarant downstairs which served locally produced food at extremely good value. the same dishes would be triple the price in London. would go again if we go back to Yorkshire, excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    119
    67
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
24
115
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Watford
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2010

Ive stayed at the Royal Oak for just one night on two separate occasions. On arrival the first time I was a bit concerned as it seemed a bit 'pubby' and the staircase up the room was pretty shabby. However dont be deterred! The rooms are all two floors up and have all been refurbished, they are nicely decorated, have good bathrooms and comfortable beds. The staff are extremely helpful, going out of their way to make you feel at home.
But best of all is the food, firstly the best breakfast I have ever had, really well cooked and high quality. Ive also had evening meal on both occasions which was equally good, dont miss the ploughmans which is served on a huge wooded platter, and has home cooked ham, a whole pot of wonderful chutney, numerous cheeses etc etc.
Though I now have no reason to go back to Ripon Im trying to find one so that I can stay at the Royal Oak again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tunbridge Wells
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2010

An extremely pleasant, recently modernised pub/restaurant with fantastic food (not cheap) and obviously very popular with the locals

Very helpful and caring staff/management.

Limited parking - not a great problem as they are happy to refund the parking charges from nearby supermarket car park.

Bedroom (room 5) was ok. Of average size but not nearly as much thought has been put into its design and layout as has obvioulsy gone into the pub itself. The bed is very low - only a few inches different between this and a mattress on the floor. However, the mattress was comfortable and the sleep quality quite good. Upon reading previous entries in the visitors book I was alerted to the fact there may not be a hair dryer and, sure enough, this was missing from the room and we had to make a special request.

Tea and coffee provision was ok but no sign of the promised 'home made biscuits' . There is a welcome voucher for a free glass of Timoth Taylor ale at the bar - a nice touch. The heating did not appear to be in our control and at times the room seemed a bit chilly.

Good, well lit area for applying make up etc and space for luggage rack and suitcase. However the only way to watch the TV (which was pretty much on the ceiling) would be lying on the bed.

I was pleased to find the bathroom had a bath as we had just stayed three nights in a hotel with shower only. BUT the state of this bath was almost enough to have us checking out straight away. The small bathroom was sort of clean and probably not so very old but the seal around the bath was just grim. Black with mould (those stains that you just cant shift) and obviously not adequate to cope with the powerful shower over the bath. Having soaked in the bath (with eyes closed) on the first night, we decided to shower only the next day. That was fine, warm and refreshing. Only two, slightly frayed, bath towels and absolutely nowhere to hang these or anything else in the bathroom. I dont know if the drains were blocked (the breakfast area smelled of bad eggs on the first morning) but the water from our showers did not want to run out of the bath so I think there was an issue going on somewhere!

There was obviously a very thin wall between us and the neighbouring bedroom which meant we heard every noise. The single gentleman occupying this room on the second night was an insomniac and tossed and turned all night in a rather squeaky bed - leading to a disturbed night for ourselves too.

We very much enjoyed our meals in the evening - one in the restaurant and one in the relaxed atmosphere in the bar.

Breakfast was served in a modern bright area of the bar and was pretty delicious - quality ingredients which were well cooked and presented. Full marks for the delicious poached fruits with vanilla, served straight from the Kilner jar.. A lovely idea I had never encountered before.

The position of this pub is very good - close to the cathedral and the centre of the city.

Maybe we were just unlucky with our allocation of bedroom. We would have booked one of the superior rooms but they were not available. Reading other comments both on Trip Advisor and also in their visitors book on one else seems to have an issue with the bath (why I wonder!?). Maybe this bathroom is due for an upgrade. Or, at the very least, a rethink of the bath sealant. If so, I would happily recommend all other aspects, especially the standard of the catering and the friendliness of the staff.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartlepool
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2010

We used this hotel to stay at while we went to the visit we were able to park around the back of the hotel and were able to check in upon arrival which was just before arrival even though check in was 3pm. Upon entering the room which was (rm 1- a suprior family rm) i was shocked to how clean and tidy it looked, there were two beds a double leather and a leather sofa bed, plasma tv and a vardity of dressing tables. The bathroom was very spacious with a large bath and overhead shower. We went down to the pub but choose not to eat their as it was only a small menu but have previously eaten here before and the food is beautiful. The hotel is a very short walk from the centre and cathedral. We did find at the top of the road a Chienese which was beautiful and reasonably priced. The Race course was a short walk which we decided to do as it was a nice day and it took you along the canal or a taxi ride which someone told us had cost them £6. After having a good nights sleep we went down to breakfast which was beutiful a menu was given to you were you were able to choose a varity of things from a cooked breaskfast, ham and cheeses and crossonts. The breakfast was then served with toast and a choice of juices or hot drinks. The only negative which has got nothing to do with the hotel is that there isnt many places to go on a night or day bit others may find this different. The staff were very nice and i gound this to be a brilliant experience and would go back again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2010

Went down for my birthday just for the one night, although they had the electricians in at the time it did not spoil our stay. The service was friendly and very good. Our evening meal was excellent as was our breakfast, we were given a discount card which gave us 10% off the room and meal. The only down side is the parking, we did manage to park at the back but there are not many places. Ripon is a lovely city and we went to Fountains Abbey and Brimham Rocks had a great couple of days.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalOakRipon, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Thank you for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed here on a one night stop over. Lovely hotel with excellent staff !! Good sized family room which was spotless. The bar and restaurant are both excellent and reasonably priced. Breakfast menu is great and the cooked breakfast is the best i have ever had !!! only small complaint is the parking . Would definately recommend this hotel

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyalOakRipon, Manager at The Royal Oak, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Thank you for you kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, Cheshire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

My wife,myself and two teenage daughters stayed in a family superior room for one night and it was all you could expect. The room, bar area and breakfast area where all to a high standard. The staff where all very friendly, polite and helpful. The room was decorated in a modern style and was the largest we have ever stayed in. There was a choice on the breakfast menu and the food was lovely.
The only problems where, difficulty in parking, as there where only enough room for four cars at the back. We found street parking easily enough though. The only other thing was noise from late night revellers, although if it was a cooler night and the window was closed then it probably wouln't have been a problem.
All said, this was an excellent place to stay!

Dave McCulloch

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Royal Oak

Address: 36 Kirkgate, Ripon HG4 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Ripon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Ripon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Royal Oak 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is the ideal base for sight seeing, whether in Ripon, the surrounding area, a trip to the races or a local wedding. Ideally located 15 mins drive from the A1 motorway, and proud to hold a 4 diamond AA rating, it is an ideal choice as a perfect stop over for those long car journeys. We have a choice of family, twin or double rooms, all with en-suite bath or shower. All our bedrooms have been upgraded and are modern and well finished, all have a modern flat screen television with freeview and complimentary tea, coffee, water and biscuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Royal Oak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Oak Ripon

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.