We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jennifer's

Jennifer's
62 Fore Street, Saltash, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 38 Restaurants in Saltash
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Delicatessen, British
Restaurant details
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

A little tea shop on the Main Street, this independently owned venue offers locally sourced good quality food.

I visited the venue with a friend and was pleasantly surprised, from the outside the tea room doesn't look like much, especially with the rather uninspiring outdoor seating but it offers a wide and varied selection of teas, cakes, freshly made sandwiches and delicatessen products. The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable, able to offer advice on the range they have in store. Alongside the tea rooms there are varying deli items you can take home with you.

The decor is very quaint, with limited seating. However it creates a real ambiance.

Would defiantly recommend over the other tea rooms and coffee shops in Saltash.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    7
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buckingham
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
1,005 helpful votes 1,005 helpful votes
“Needs a lift.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Came in to kill time while our nephew was at some music event down on the quay. The women staff were pleasant, the food was OK if a bit routine. With the door open, the constant tramp of pedestrians and moderately heavy traffic noise, the experience is a but functional and uninspiring. With the current glut of tea shops everywhere it is a pity that this place which is so obviously an independent, does not do something to give it a bit of a lift.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beijing
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A local gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Jennifer's is a really good high street resource ! Everything is home made and I believe is locally sourced. Outside catering can also be arranged.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Top Contributor
1,241 reviews 1,241 reviews
739 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 195 cities Reviews in 195 cities
5,472 helpful votes 5,472 helpful votes
“Only two tables inside. But good cafe.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Not forgetting two steel tables and four chairs outside. This is a small room but a lot is packed in. When recalled for a quiet coffee and snack, the two inside tables were occupied but we were welcomed to sit on spare chairs. It was very friendly indeed on our weekday, although all the others were OAPs and welcoming. There is a simple but easily sufficient range of savoury snacks and a good many cakes and other slices etc to go with drinks. Everything we had was fresh and tasty. Around the sides are shelves and displays of deli type foods to take home. The two ladies are very helpful and talkative. Maybe we were the only non regulars or non locals. Several people who walked by waved and one couple took the trouble to open the door with greetings and harmless gossip. This is much more amenable to short or lingering snacking the a couple or more of the bakers etc elsewhere in the street. We liked our homely half hour in here. Parking on the other hand is worse than hit and miss and might be enough to makes drive on if we couldn't find a quick space and were otherwise passing through. Should also say that this cafe does a lot of takeaway.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United kingdom
Top Contributor
287 reviews 287 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
2,159 helpful votes 2,159 helpful votes
“Nice cafe in Saltash”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Small but pleasant cafe. A few tables and modest but tasty selection of cakes and other food. We have dropped in a couple of times for afternoon tea and it has been friendly easy going and peaceful.

Listing could do with some photos.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jennifer's also viewed

 

Been to Jennifer's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jennifer's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.