We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cardinals Hatt

The Cardinals Hatt
Callington Road | Hatt, Saltash, England
01752 845 888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 36 restaurants in Saltash
Price range: $16 - $29
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Seafood, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Welcome to the Cardinals Hatt, which is on the site of the old Holland Inn in Saltash. Our superbly refurbished restaurant, bar and patio area are now open for business. The restaurant is open to for breakfast, lunch and dinner. We are happy to provide private dinning for your special occasions (by prior arrangement).We have comfortable rooms available on a Bed and Breakfast basis. All our rooms are ensuite and come with colour TV's, Tea and Coffee making facilities, off road private parking and a full English Breakfast which is served in our restaurant. Our room rates are highly competitive.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Brilliant Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 NEW

I was lucky enough to be treated to meal here my some friends that were down for a holiday,in Callington.The welcome was warm and friendly we were shown to a table immediately.attention to detail was upmost the restaurant wad spotlessly cleaned ,welcoming and a really lovely atmosphere.
We ordered starters breads and dips were excellent,the liver pate was to die for.There was a special of steak with a of wine .the fish and chips were divine one of my friends was a vegetarian there was plenty of choice for to.The plates were hit and the food very hot.just the perfect place gor a get together

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

74% Recommend
    19
    14
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saltash, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014 NEW

Visited this establishment a few times now and have never been disappointed. Service always excellent and made to feel exceptionally welcome, food as always never disappoints, always consistent in presentation, flavour and over all delivery. I always recommend this place and think if you want some where special to eat and get that satisfactory feeling then this is the only place to go in Saltash. Perfect every time x

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“A very disappointing experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 NEW

This used to be an excellent place for meeting and having a meal on a Sunday. We went over yesterday, thinking along the lines of a carvery, only to be told that they only do a plated roast. Still, we thought, we chance it..... What a disappointment. The spuds were hidden under the meat and the spoonful of swede was also very well hidden. The pork slices that hubby had actually looked like bacon rashers.... although I must say that my roast beef was tasty. The extra veg (if you can call it that) was a side dish with about a dozen carrot batons, as many again of thin green beans and the same again of peas in the pod. Altogether it looked like a plated dish you would give to a 5 year old..... The words to use would be, NEVER AGAIN - Shame they've spoiled what was a great place.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annan. Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014 NEW

Excellent food, and I mean EXCELLENT food, we arrived about 1815hrs for dinner, but it started to get a bit busy after 1900hrs, just if you were wanting a quiet dinner, advise to go early, but deffinatly recomend the food

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I reviewed this restaurant earlier this year when I was impressed with the food, service and value for money. I visited again this week when I was disappointed to find that the menu had changed and the prices had risen by a considerable amount. In January I had a delicious gammon steak costing under £11, this time I had to pay £12 for a so called Caesar Salad which came without croutons or Parmesan, so I paid an extra £2.50 for some chips to go with it. My husband and the friends we were with also had very mediocre food at inflated prices. I hope the management realise that when the tourists go home at the end of the summer they will need to rely on local trade. We shall be patronising the other pubs in the area who still give good value for money.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cardinals Hatt also viewed

 

Been to The Cardinals Hatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cardinals Hatt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.