We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel. Shame about the food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Mellion International Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St Mellion International Resort to your Saves list
St Mellion International Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Mellion, Saltash PL12 6SD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
1 review
“Good hotel. Shame about the food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked superior room with balcony overlooking golf course and the village which was definitely worth paying extra for. Found staff very courteous throughout. The food in the brasserie was what I would expect to find in cheap pub chain not in a four star hotel. Most dishes were obviously bought in frozen e.g. chips and burgers. I would expect brasserie food to be freshly prepared. This was a shame as we had to go out to eat in evenings when we would have preferred to stay I and enjoy a drink with our meal.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    190
    105
    47
    14
See reviews for
89
212
11
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

this was a golfing holiday with 39 of us playing for three days, it was a long drive from London but in the end was worth it. we where well looked after by the staff on and off the golf course, the room where large and clean. going on to the golf the top course is not for very high handicaps as it is not for giving but the other course will be fun for all golfers. I would like to go back there if in the area on holiday playing golf. they gave us a private room for our evening meals with our own bar as there was so many of us again we where well looked after.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We chose this hotel because it is near Plymouth and we were able to check-in in the small hours after driving from Kent. It is primarily a golfing centre and the course looks impressive, and the situation is close to idyllic. The staff are unfailingly courteous, the rooms spacious and comfortable and the facilities excellent - swimming pools, gym, sauna, parking etc - so that you could really stay within the hotel the whole time if you choose, which many golfers no doubt do.

For anyone else using this as a stop for business at Plymouth, the hotel is about 10 minutes drive from the city centre, so it is well placed for the non-golfer too. Quibbles are that there is only a fixed shower in the bathroom, the Wi-Fi connection in the public areas is uncertain and the food in the Bar and the Brasserie is rather bland; we did not try the restaurant as the menu in the rooms lacked prices, which can only mean one thing.

Room Tip: Rooms facing south with balconies have a stupendous view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Booked this as a last minute break. Got really good rate. Very helpful staff, comfortable rooms and good food. Leisure facilities excellent. Did not have time for Golf but hope to return again to play one of the courses. Will definitely visit again, highly recommended.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

Recently stayed at St Mellion resort on a golf break with friends, the facilities and both golf courses are fantastic but the food in the brassiere was quite frankly disgusting, tasteless and served with no presentation to even make the dish looking appealing to the eye. Having visited many golf break resorts where the quality of food is superb, I was extremely disappointed that the food was so poor!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We chose to have our wedding reception here on July 13th 2013 and we could not have been happier. All the staff were professional and attentive and nothing was to much trouble, the food was amazing both during the wedding breakfast and evening BBQ :-) the service we received from Ann Marie the wedding coordinator was brilliant from the early stages of planning right through to the last detail on the day. A great place to hold your special day, competitively priced for a top service. Thanks to all at st mellion ;-)

Room Tip: The suites on the first floor are really spacious, great views over the course and very comfortable...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

We had saved for a while to go to this hotel for one night in June. The room and view was lovely. However the shower was not! It sprayed water all over the place with no central spray. This was supposed to be a luxurious room, my shower is better at home! We made reservations in the brasserie as the restaurant menu, we felt was limited! First, we requested a table by the window, when arriving to the brasserie there were no spare tables by the window! This was resolved. We ordered our starters, prawn cocktail and Goat's cheese bruschetta. The cocktail was like Iceland's frozen shrimp smothered in sauce on top of iceburg lettuce and 2 chunks of tomato and cucumber!The Goat's cheese, little chunks on top of barely toasted bread. NOT GOOD ENOUGH FOR nearly £7 each! The mains were disastrous, small fatty chunk of pork belly, pale, cold chips and a barely there portion, with a burnt duck and soggy vegetables that had seen better days! We sent it back as we didn't think good enough for £16 each. The staff couldn't believe it! We ordered again, fish and chips, burnt batter, tasteless and a burger! TOTALLY DISAPPOINTING!! WE THOUGHT/EXPECTED THE STANDARD TO BE MUCH BETTER!! The cuisine for a 4 star hotel was awful and the evening was ruined essentially, we only had booked for 1 night! The spa facilities were constantly full of families and the theme of relaxation was nowhere to be found! Would NOT go back!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to St Mellion International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mellion International Resort

Address: St Mellion, Saltash PL12 6SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St Mellion International Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Unparalleled Rest & Relaxation at St Mellion International Resort Discover a world of cosmopolitan pleasures within the grounds of St Mellion. Set in 450 acres of breath-taking Cornish countryside, the resort offers an exceptional blend of four-star accommodation, inspired dining and outstanding business and event facilities. Located in Saltash, just 10 miles from Plymouth, St Mellion offers a well-deserved escape to the countryside right on your doorstep. Steeped in elegance; a place where miles of open green valleys wait at every turn. The resort is best known for the Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, the first European course personally designed by Jack Nicklaus, which draws accomplished and casual golfers from around the world looking to improve their game. With the addition of luxurious bedrooms, casual and fine-dining restaurant options, swimming pools, fitness, tennis and spa facilities, it's what makes St Mellion an all-encompassing leisure hub and resort of choice. Adding a friendly welcome to the exquisite setting of St Mellion, our team have created a luxury experience that anticipates the needs of our valued guests, offering you and your family endless possibilities for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your St Mellion International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mellion International Hotel Saltash
St Mellion International Resort Saltash, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Mellion International Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.