We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big and stylish” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St Mellion International Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added St Mellion International Resort to your Saves list
St Mellion International Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Mellion, Saltash PL12 6SD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Big and stylish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This stay was a last minute special deal and the price was fantastic for the type of accommodation. The rooms were big, modern and comfortable with a lovely en suite bathroom and a good view from the 2nd floor. The king bed was one of the best I have slept in. This is a very big golf resort with good facilities.
The negatives were: there was no WiFi in the room and was only available in the reception and restaurant areas I was told. However I wasn't told that you had to register to access the log on code and so could not use my computer at all during my stay. The floors squeaked as you moved around so not sure how that would impact on the floors below. The bistro dining was not the best with bland overpriced food and very poor service. Our stay didn't include breakfast in the price.

Room Tip: Ask the reception if WiFi is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    190
    105
    47
    14
See reviews for
89
212
11
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Attended a family function on Saturday June 29th in the ANEESH Suite, must say it was very nice. Food was excellent and the staff were very attentive well done Gareth, Craig and Thomas for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andover
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Use of the brilliant leisure facilities at St Mellion was part of our package with rental of one of the Oakridge lodges a few miles down the road. We made good use of them, being in and around the pool for about two hours every day.

What sets this apart from the standard is the excellent swimming instruction on offer. My 90 year old mother, who used to swim but had lost confidence, had three lessons during our week and we could not believe the progress she made so quickly. Neil is a very professional and able instructor who soon had her putting her face into the water and blowing bubbles as well as being towed around the pool kicking her legs – excellent therapy for those arthritic knees! She enjoyed it immensely and her trust in him meant I had the bonus of half an hour in the pool, steam room and sauna by myself knowing she was being well looked after. I cannot recommend him highly enough and witnessed him teaching all age groups and abilities. He is a real asset to the establishment.

The changing facilities are also excellent for able bodied and disabled guests with an extra large changing room and disabled loo and shower. Top marks.

Other staff at the hotel also added to our enjoyment, like Sam and Emma. We ate in the brasserie and found the portions very generous. Advice to go for a small salad at lunchtime was good as it was more than ample. Shame they did not offer a smaller portion chilli as well!

We booked the lodge through HPB and found it very well equipped, beautifully peaceful and completely relaxing. Quite compact downstairs with three bedrooms and three ensuites but plenty of room upstairs in the open plan living/dining/kitchen area. No loo upstairs though which was a shame. Large boiler room cupboard was excellent for drying wet swimming gear.

There are quite a few steps to negotiate on the site which won't make it ideal for all those with mobility issues, but for my mum who has to do steps at home, they were good therapy. She increased in ability as the week progressed. Slightly large step into the property which could be made easier for all by adding a further small step.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

As a couple this was our second visit to the resort , on both occasions have found the hotel staff excellent and more than welcoming !! The rooms are modern , clean and as we had a superior the view was spectacular . We have dined in both restaurants and the food has been spot on , flavour , presentation and service indisputable !! Breakfast buffet is also outstanding ! The golf courses speak for themselves but all the pro shop and course staff couldn't have been more accomodating and extremely helpful especially when we returned with wet equipment helping to store and dry our kit for the following day ! We very much look forward to returning to this very well run resort and it is somewhere we hope to return to annually !

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at St Mellion on the last weekend in June and thought it was good but not great.

We were a party of 8 there for a Golf & Spa weekend. The rooms were decent, with a comfy bed and good shower. Decor was ok if a little tired.

Service was really hit and miss. On check in we were given next to no information from reception, even having to ask where the bistro was so we could get a coffee while we waited for our room, and what was given was delivered bluntly. The restaurant/bistro staff were far better; Jack in particular was attentive, friendly and continually helpful. The male manager in the An Boesti restaurant in the evening was also very friendly.

We ate in the An Boesti restaurant in the evening, which was very good. The food was delicious but minimalist in the extreme - this, coupled with the extra charge we had to pay on top of our package per person (£7.50) and extra charges for having cheese, left you feeling a little hard done by. There was also a lack of atmosphere in the restaurant, it was far too quiet.


Breakfast was great, huge selection of fresh fruit, pastries, cold meats and hot buffet. There were a few nice touches too like a selection of nuts to have with fruit and yoghurt and a selection of prepared meals from an extras menu.

We played 2 rounds of Golf, both on the Kernow course and really enjoyed it. We're not the best golfers but enjoyed the course and everyone in the Pro Shop was very helpful.

The package itself was a little lob sided really; we played two rounds of golf over two days totally about 8 hours play but those having spa treatments had only one 30 mins treatment. Two had their nails done and both chipped within an hour of having them done which isn't great either.

Overall, it was a nice weekend and we had all had a good time. The resort was clean, well looked after and the weather was great. We all had fun and most things were pretty good. Just a few things mentioned above that left you slightly underwhelmed.

Room Tip: Try and get on the 2nd floor. Everyone has to walk by the rooms on the first floor to get to all oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corsley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Just back from a couple of nights at this well appointed Cornish venue, I can recommend it for anyone looking for a golfing break in the West country. With two excellent, if tight, golf courses to choose from and a varied food menu to suit all tastes served by friendly multicultural staff, what more do you need? The rooms all overlook the 18th green of the Nicklaus course and are spacious and well appointed. For the super energetic golfer there is also a spa thrown in. For those seeking a cultural add on, visit the nearby National Trust property of Cotehele, a medieval house with attractive gardens set in the beautiful Tamar Valley

Room Tip: For the best views go for a second floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I had the pleasure of using st mellion last week to run a business event for 20 people over 2 days and I have to say it was one of the best locations I have ever encountered. The event was meticulously managed - a fabulous bright room, good views, well ,laid out, technology that worked and staff that knew what they were doing - a real joy!

We ate at he hotel and were given a private room and again served very professionally. All of our delegates had south facing balcony rooms which they loved.

The hotel is obviously not overly luxurious, but is a very competent 4 star with a good range of facilities, including a huge pool and gym area.

Room Tip: Superior rooms really are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Mellion International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mellion International Resort

Address: St Mellion, Saltash PL12 6SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St Mellion International Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Unparalleled Rest & Relaxation at St Mellion International Resort Discover a world of cosmopolitan pleasures within the grounds of St Mellion. Set in 450 acres of breath-taking Cornish countryside, the resort offers an exceptional blend of four-star accommodation, inspired dining and outstanding business and event facilities. Located in Saltash, just 10 miles from Plymouth, St Mellion offers a well-deserved escape to the countryside right on your doorstep. Steeped in elegance; a place where miles of open green valleys wait at every turn. The resort is best known for the Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, the first European course personally designed by Jack Nicklaus, which draws accomplished and casual golfers from around the world looking to improve their game. With the addition of luxurious bedrooms, casual and fine-dining restaurant options, swimming pools, fitness, tennis and spa facilities, it's what makes St Mellion an all-encompassing leisure hub and resort of choice. Adding a friendly welcome to the exquisite setting of St Mellion, our team have created a luxury experience that anticipates the needs of our valued guests, offering you and your family endless possibilities for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your St Mellion International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mellion International Hotel Saltash
St Mellion International Resort Saltash, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Mellion International Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.