We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, clean, warm rooms - boring, boring restaurant.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of St Mellion International Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added St Mellion International Resort to your Saves list
St Mellion International Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Mellion, Saltash PL12 6SD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Discount
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saltash
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great staff, clean, warm rooms - boring, boring restaurant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

This is a grip from a regular visitor - single stay guests will not be affected by this.

I stay at the St Mellion about 3 - 4 nights per month (work) and have done so since October 2011.

The hotel and facilities are great, but the restaurant bar (dinner) menu needs a drastic change.

Since staying at St Mellion, the bar menu has not changed. The selection is not huge and my colleagues and I now drive up to 10 miles, just for the chance to eat from a different menu.

All that is required is for a daily special dish (that is not soup or fish) to be added to the menu or even better - a new menu to be created.

Secondly, there is nothing wrong with serving food on crockery - breadboards are a pain to eat from.

///

A lovely place, but please come up with daily specials on a blackboard.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    177
    96
    43
    9
See reviews for
70
201
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

With easy access into Plymouth, but set in the quiet countryside this is an ideal place to stay. I am a non golfer so dont read my review expecting to hear all about the course, which apparently is very good. Good reception staff on arrival, most helpful. The room we had 2nd floor looking over the car park and golf course was lovely and fresh and clean. Massive bed, with beautiful crisp fresh white bedding, good dark curtains and a very satisfactory bathroom with lots of hot clean fluffy towels and elemis goodies. But not much milk, or tea and 1 small pack of biscuits - maybe housekeeping need to check stock levels in the drawers.

Very nice HOT indoor swimming pools, lovely steam room, sauna and jacuzzi - fab changing rooms, very clean and well maintained. Good gym as well.

Evening meal was super (we did not upgrade, but ate in the very nice bar area) - steak cooked exactly as specified, service very good with friendly staff. Breakfast offered an excellent choice if you saw the menu (we did not until after we had eaten) and breakfast service was a little less professional, but big cooked breakfast and a good selection for the continental breakfast. Stay only slightly marred by the reception staff as we left who made an error with our bill - which was quickly rectified. Will certainly stay again.

Evening in the bistro was fine, good food well cooked (steak was exactly right) and pleasant service.

Room Tip: they do offer rooms with balcony or terrace - we did not upgrade to one and our room was super.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A very friendly club set in stunning countryside. The timeshare accommodation is comfortable and well maintained Leisure facilities and pools are very good.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

We recently attended a works xmas Party at St Mellion and would like to thank all staff for a great time. Service, food and accomodation along with a day of gold for the gents and spa treatments for the ladies were all exceptional quality. We all came away very very happy and will definately be returning again soon. Thank you to all :)

Room Tip: All standard rooms still of high quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Went as a group of 15 on a golf break. I'll get the negatives out of the way first, some of the meals were on the small side, a touch too much chlorine in the pool and maybe another road sign saying where to go from the old entrance i.e to the island and first left. On the positive side of things, rooms were clean, comfortable and warm with tea and coffee, breakfast had a good choice and plenty of it, the staff were very friendly and helpful, bar had a fair choice of drinks and snacks, showers had gel/shampoo and towels were provided, awesome views from the golf courses. Will definitely be coming back just hope for better weather this time.

Room Tip: the closer to reception and the pool you are the more foot traffic will be passing your door at nigh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We travelled with another family and our young children and stayed in a 2 bed lodge. The one and only negative is the decor which is 1980's at it best! However the lodge was very clean, warm and massive. We had extra beds and cots and there was plenty of room.
The swimming pool here is wonderful and everyone is child friendly. We had lunch in the brasserie where the play area was useful and got a takeaway in the evening.
We would do this again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

As a party of 14 -including 3 non golfers - stayed for New Year on 3 day deal.
Reception very welcoming. Rooms were bright,well appointed and warm. Particularly enjoyed the Elemis bathroom products. Thank you.
New Year's Eve Party excellent. Food was superb,good group and lively atmosphere.Organisers deserve our congratulations.
Restaurant food good and well presented. Staff were extremely helpful and attentive.
The only downside was the availability of house wines at reasonable prices.Improve this and you will sell far more - particularly to us!
Would we recommend you - certainly.
Would we return - we are hoping to have a weekend later in the year.

Room Tip: If you stay during Summer Months pay extra for Superior Room and watch golfers come down 18th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Mellion International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mellion International Resort

Address: St Mellion, Saltash PL12 6SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St Mellion International Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Unparalleled Rest & Relaxation at St Mellion International Resort Discover a world of cosmopolitan pleasures within the grounds of St Mellion. Set in 450 acres of breath-taking Cornish countryside, the resort offers an exceptional blend of four-star accommodation, inspired dining and outstanding business and event facilities. Located in Saltash, just 10 miles from Plymouth, St Mellion offers a well-deserved escape to the countryside right on your doorstep. Steeped in elegance; a place where miles of open green valleys wait at every turn. The resort is best known for the Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, the first European course personally designed by Jack Nicklaus, which draws accomplished and casual golfers from around the world looking to improve their game. With the addition of luxurious bedrooms, casual and fine-dining restaurant options, swimming pools, fitness, tennis and spa facilities, it's what makes St Mellion an all-encompassing leisure hub and resort of choice. Adding a friendly welcome to the exquisite setting of St Mellion, our team have created a luxury experience that anticipates the needs of our valued guests, offering you and your family endless possibilities for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your St Mellion International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mellion International Hotel Saltash
St Mellion International Resort Saltash, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Mellion International Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.