We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good all round!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St Mellion International Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added St Mellion International Resort to your Saves list
St Mellion International Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St Mellion, Saltash PL12 6SD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% Discount
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saltash
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
407 helpful votes 407 helpful votes
“Very good all round!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here due to its location and initially thought it would be a good base from which to explore the Eden project, Plymouth and Cornish coastline. It was in a perfect location for all but in itself was a high quality place to stay. It is very much a golf resort but we didn't feel out of place at all. We were given an extremely high quality of room with a balcony view onto to the course. Room was funky with large purple chairs but also nice and big, very comfortable bed. It seemed very modern and not very old so benefitted from a new feel. Generally very clean and stylish room simar to a good 4 star hotel. Hotel facilities were superb with a hugh pool, gym and spa complex free to guests. 3 large pools with steam, sauna and jacuzzi. Food was also of a high standard but I had to pay separately for breakfast which was disappointing as booking on hotels.com there wasn't an option to get breakfast which I most likely would have done. Overall extremely good for the price and would recommend both for a golf stay, quiet peaceful break away or as a central point for exploring nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

520 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    177
    96
    43
    9
See reviews for
69
201
11
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

'I recently had the pleasure of dinner at The Brasserie at St Mellion International Resort, Cornwall. We were treated to good food of which the quality and quantity were excellent. On top of that, the service was polite, efficient and sufficiently attentive to make us feel we were being looked after well. i will definitely go back for more and on top of that it didn't break the bank! A winner all round.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

Stayed here in March with my wife and two small children. This complex has fantastic facilities right across the board. The pool areas, gym, golfing facilities, spa are top notch. The room was lovely as well and the cot and Childs bed were ready and waiting on our arrival. So what's the catch? Two things jump out...the service is really poor, especially in the brasserie where the food is average at best. You can't serve up fat riddled burgers with gristle and charge £11 for the privilege. To be fair breakfast was excellent and the young waitresses tried their best. secondly, why is everyone so miserable? I though maybe because this is a upper end golf resort that the stuffiness has rubbed of on the staff. Please guys, cheer up (particularly in the pool and gym areas). not a bad stay but I wouldn't recommend this complex to anyone who wants to be greeted with a cheerful face.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

As a last mintute birthday treat, we booked through late rooms for a mid-week standard room only 1 night deal. When booking in, the staff on reception where very helpful explaining where all of the facilities were and also booked us a table for dinner in the Brasserie. Our room was a very nice size, spotlessly clean (I'm very fussy!) and was well stocked with Elemis toiletries and a good variety of teas, coffee etc. The swimming pool and facilities were good and it is very family friendly. We ate in the Brasserie on a 2 course for £20 menu. The food was good and the staff were very polite and attentive. As it was mid-week it was not that busy but we couldn't fault the service at all. We would happily come back here again and plan to do so in the near future.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We got a great deal through Travel Republic, stayed room only in a resort room so cant comment on food, the room was lovely though. . Huge great big bath, tea making facilities and plenty of milk, iron, hairdresser, shampoo, soap all included. The only thing stopping me giving it a 5 star is that the bed too firm for me, poor signage (where was the pool?), poor lighting on driveway, and 11am checkout. Travelodge and Holiday Inn both have a noon checkout, making it far better for a 1 night weekend break.

Room Tip: Ask for a view which doesn't over look the carpark
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

no record of reservation ,service poor and staff poorly trained,carvery cold , wouldnt reccomend a meal here

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

A very pleasant stay - but could have been in any hotel anywhere in the world!

Clean and functional. Nice room with view of car park.

Tea and making facilities but no biscuits.

Room Tip: One with a view of the course I guess.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to St Mellion International Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St Mellion International Resort

Address: St Mellion, Saltash PL12 6SD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — St Mellion International Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy Unparalleled Rest & Relaxation at St Mellion International Resort Discover a world of cosmopolitan pleasures within the grounds of St Mellion. Set in 450 acres of breath-taking Cornish countryside, the resort offers an exceptional blend of four-star accommodation, inspired dining and outstanding business and event facilities. Located in Saltash, just 10 miles from Plymouth, St Mellion offers a well-deserved escape to the countryside right on your doorstep. Steeped in elegance; a place where miles of open green valleys wait at every turn. The resort is best known for the Nicklaus Signature Golf Course, the first European course personally designed by Jack Nicklaus, which draws accomplished and casual golfers from around the world looking to improve their game. With the addition of luxurious bedrooms, casual and fine-dining restaurant options, swimming pools, fitness, tennis and spa facilities, it's what makes St Mellion an all-encompassing leisure hub and resort of choice. Adding a friendly welcome to the exquisite setting of St Mellion, our team have created a luxury experience that anticipates the needs of our valued guests, offering you and your family endless possibilities for recreation and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your St Mellion International Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St Mellion International Hotel Saltash
St Mellion International Resort Saltash, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St Mellion International Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.