We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cotehele (National Trust)

Cotehele (National Trust)
St Dominick, Saltash PL12 6TA, England
44 1579 351346
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Saltash
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Lichfield
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“A real delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Such a fantastic example of a Tudor house, very atmospheric and lots to see in each room. Highlights are the great hall, which I was told dates to thirteenth century, chapel with clock, and kitchen with a fantastic fireplace and bread oven.
Beware sat nav directions...as we found ourselves travelling down farm tracks which were pretty difficult to navigate.
Great food at he restaurant on site and also a gift and plant shop.
A real gem and would highly recommend a visit

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    94
    18
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
152 helpful votes 152 helpful votes
“Dark”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I understand the need for low levels of light but the National Trust seem to be over the top here. It's a lovely house with wonderful things to see but you can't always see things in any detail. There is one staircase which we found dangerous because of the lack of light. We have visited several properties recently and none were as dark as here.
We also were going to have lunch in the barn but were put off by the smell of fish which was one of the specials that day. More extraction needed.
These two things spoiled a lovely place which we will return to and try again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bramley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We spent all day here with our 3 year old. We were staying 2 miles away and there is plenty to see and do here. The quiz kept him occupied going around all the rooms and he was fascinated at the Mill watching the potter make a vase. We had lunch at the Quay and the food was delicious with a kids size portion available. It was a rainy day but this didn't dampen the spirits of the staff and volunteers who are a credit to the NT.
Make a visit to this interesting and welcoming property.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnislake
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Sunday afternoon.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Great place to spend a sunny Sunday afternoon walking round with the family. It is only two miles from us so easy access etc.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Loved this place, spent ages there. Really liked the cornish cheese tea on offer in the tea room, making the most of local produce. The gardens are lovely and really like the apple art in the orchard. Like the mill and quay, an insight to the industry in the area too. The volunteers were really freindly and welcoming.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cotehele (National Trust) also viewed

 

Been to Cotehele (National Trust)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cotehele (National Trust), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.