We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Cardinals Hatt

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Cardinals Hatt to your Saves list
The Cardinals Hatt
Callington Road, Saltash PL12 6PJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 12 Saltash B&B and Inns
Saltash, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Room was clean, bath was old and badly stained but clean. TV has freeview but only about 6 of the channels were tuned in.
Food was tasty but the portions were small for the price.
Crab risotto would have been nicer without the shell in it.
Trio of pork was served with beetroot and carrots, make that served with a single carrot, well one meal was the other didn't even have that one carrot. The hogs pudding was lovely but not lovely enough to make up for the rest.
Waiting staff seemed uninterested, bar staff were excellent despite it being busy.
It was an ok stay but we won't be rushing back

Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    25
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
19
23
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed for a couple of nights. The room (in a block of motel style rooms detached from the Restaurant and Bars) was spacious clean and warm. It had as you came into a small entry area a toilet to one side and shower room to the other. The bed was a standard size double, with a small flat screen TV and tea making facilities. Apparently the tap water is not potable, but bottled water is provided.

The bar has a good range of tables suitable for eating. There is also a smallish but comfortable partly closed off seating area, with four comfortable chairs. As we were visiting an area in which we used to live this was perfect for meeting some old friends for a quiet drink and talk. We eat in the bar area described earlier, and enjoyed the meals we had tasty and nicely presented. There is also a separate dedicated restaurant but we did not use this. We enjoyed our stay, and will certainly return again when we need to stay in the area.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager T, Public Relations Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this review, December 15, 2014
Dear Madfan48

Thank you for your recent visit to the Cardinals Hatt and we appreciate that you have taken the time to share your experience with Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you were happy with you room and that you made the most of our bar area.

We have just opened a new lounge area with a wood burner, which would also be great for meeting up with friends for a quiet drink.

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Nadine Evens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. The room cost JUST £40 a night. This is not a hotel as you expect it to be. Instead of a large tall building the hotel accommodation is chalets at the back of the restaurant/bar. The parking is directly outside you chalet. You have your own front door! On entry we had a bathroom on the left and a toilet on the right. Straight ahead was the very large and spacious bedroom with a view of the fields. It was spotlessly clean. We visited when the weather was cold but we found the room to be comfortably warm WITHOUT the radiator on. Basic furniture but the bed was comfortable. Biscuits supplied with the usual tea, coffee etc. Freeview on the T.V. Very quiet. There was a notice in the bathroom telling us not to drink the tap water but 2 small bottles of water was supplied. (Fortunately I always carry bottled water in the car.)
We ate in the very modern and clean restaurant on the first evening and found the food to be tasty and well presented. The staff were all very pleasant and very helpful. The bar is also very modern and there was live music when we were there.
Ideally situated for Plymouth.

Room Tip: Take bottled water with you and an umbrella.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager T, Public Relations Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear 3ohappycouple

Thank you for visiting the Cardinals Hatt and taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We’re glad you found your room to be to your satisfaction.

As you mentioned there was live music at the bar during your stay - we hope your enjoyed it and would just like to let you know that we have live music in the bar every Friday from 9pm, for an up to date list of bands please see our website.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Nadine Evens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Somerset
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Had a one night stay to attend a family party in the attached restaurant. (Separate review)
The accommodation is all chalet style in the grounds, parking is possible close at hand.
At this price range I did not expect five star but the chalet was adequate. The beds were comfortable with clean linen and good towels were priovided. Heating was provided by central heating rads in the bedroom and bathroom. The toilet was separate to the bathroom enabling it to still be used while the bathroom was in use, not always the case!
The furniture was well worn but serviceable. The usual tea and coffee with kettle was available.
The tiles around the bath come shower had been painted over at some time and was starting to peel with some black mould evident. There was also black mould on the bottom of the Venetian blind slats on the chalet entrance door. This could easily have been removed with a spray and wipe, and spoilt the appearance of the whole room.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager T, Public Relations Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear CFC157

Thank you for taking your time to review the Cardinals Hatt.

As you may have read on other responses we are currently refurbishing our bedrooms and have so far completed 10 rooms. I will pass your comments on to housekeeping regarding the Venetian blind.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Regards

Nadine Evens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2014

Recently refurbished and under new name wasn't sure what to expect. Pleasantly surprised by modern, fresh interior of restaurant. Staff friendly and attentive. Food excellent value on special set lunchtime menu and absolutely delicious. Herby plaice fillet served with crushed new potatoes in pesto followed by chocolate brownie and icecream. Fresh, tasty and well portioned. £12. Will definitely eat here again.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager T, Public Relations Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Hayley E

Thank you for visiting the Cardinals Hatt and taking the time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.

We are delighted that you enjoyed you meal and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Nadine Evens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014 via mobile

We visited this place for my wife's birthday treat. We found the menu over priced un imaginative . The cost of basically fish and chips about £15. The atmosphere was cold staff unhelpful. The selection of food was limited although the bar has been updated in recent time.
Toilets good tables needed clearing bar untidy.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager T, Public Relations Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Micael C

Thank you for taking the time to review the Cardinals Hatt.

I am sorry to hear that you found our menu to be over priced and unimaginative, however I would like to point out we use only fresh ingredients, which have been sourced locally and therefore our prices may be a little higher than you average chain restaurant.

We do however still offer great value, our Cod & Chips is priced at £12.50 (not £15.00 as you stated in your review) and we also have the daily changing Table d’hôte menu starting at £12.00 for two courses.

I would like mention that we also change our menu every three months to make the most of the great seasonal produce here in the South West, so maybe if you gave us another go, there may be something more to your taste?

We hope to see you again in the future.

Regards

Nadine Evens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2014

Took my girlfriend here last night for a steak and it was top notch. Very clean restaurant with a warm and friendly atmosphere. The staff couldn't do enough for us both, will definitely be going back. Went to the bar after our meal, sat back and relaxed, was a great night out

Stayed November 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager T, Public Relations Manager at The Cardinals Hatt, responded to this review, November 19, 2014
Dear Ian R

Thank you for lovely review of the Cardinals Hatt. We are delighted that you and your girlfriend enjoyed your evening with us.

If you enjoyed our bar area, you may be interested to know that we have live music every Friday from 9pm.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards

Nadine Evens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Cardinals Hatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cardinals Hatt

Address: Callington Road, Saltash PL12 6PJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Saltash
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your The Cardinals Hatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holland Hotel Saltash
The Cardinals Hatt Saltash, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cardinals Hatt, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.