We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Day Out!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matlock Farm Park

Matlock Farm Park
Jaggers Lane | Nr. Two Dales, Matlock DE4 5LH, England
01246 590200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 16 Attractions in Matlock
Type: Farms, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Matlock Farm Park is a family friendly open farm, providing a great day out with varied activities for all the family. The park has a large selection of animals to see including llamas, goats, peacocks, meerkats, chickens, pigs, alpacas, ducks and red deer to name a few. There are specially designed playgrounds and even a go-kart track for the kids and many places for the adults to relax if they wish.Group party bookings and children's birthday parties are also catered for, please ring for details.There is a licensed cafe serving hot food, a classroom and a gift shop.Horse Riding Lessons and Pony Trekking are also available with prior booking.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Day Out!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We saw it on Groupon and it looked alright so thought we would try it out. I have one son and he is mad about animals he loved running round feeding the animals his favorite was the two Shetland ponies the nice man at the entrance told us there names where buttons and bow.
He also had a ride on a pony called pipin that we couldn't get him off of but the nice horse lady was really kind and left him stay on a bit longer.
We ended up staying the whole day at the farm. We had a nice lunch at the cafe the staff where very friendly and helpful.
All in all a great day out we will be going back again am sure.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    52
    24
    9
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Very run down, miserable place.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

I didn't really get Matlock Farm Park.
The farm itself looked very dated, run down & old, like no real care or attention went into the place at all.
The "Cafe" .. If you can call it that was a tiny little thing hidden away in the corner of their shop.
It reminded me of a school canteen, with plastic tables and chair & their wasn't much choice of food.
The whole place felt cold and miserable.
I wouldn't recommend visiting, it's not worth it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatlockFarmPark, Manager at Matlock Farm Park, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Our café isn't just a single table in a shop, its located 30m away from the entry gate within our farm park in a new building, constructed seven months ago which can seat over 50+ people.
We don't have a limited menu choice, in fact our menu has lots to choose from including; All Day Breakfast's, Roast's of the Day, Fried Chicken, Fish & Chips, Sandwiches, Salads, Fancy Coffee's, Panini's, Home Baked Cakes and Buns plus lots more.
We don't have plastic furniture in our shop or café.
To state our case, pictures of our café can be found on our website.
We can't do much about the cold and miserable bit during a visit in January, however to compensate, offers for our farm park are available through the winter months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Nice little place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

Travelled from Sheffield to visit with a Groupon voucher. Unfortunately, the weather wasn't in our favour and as it's quite exposed (being a farm), it was bracing! There had been heavy rain recently and the grassy areas were really muddy. We'd taken wellies for the kids but not for us so we avoided some areas.

When we arrived, I couldn't see any information about small animal handling and so I asked and was told that there should be someone around but we didn't see anyone out on the farm for the duration of the visit. The big wooden play structure was a big hit with my 2 boys. They enjoyed feeding the goats with the food you can buy and looking at the meerkats too.

We didn't go in the cafe so can't comment on that. It looked as though there were some other play activities available in better weather like a small trampoline. There are some coin operated cars you can drive round a small track which were good fun. All in all, we thought it was a nice place but we were planning on spending half a day there and probably only stayed about 90 minutes but the children did enjoy themselves.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Visited Matlock Farm lat week , taking our three grand children. What an amazing day we had!!! The kids were off, excited to see the animals in a safe environment.! Actually went round twice!!! had a lovely lunch in the cafe, lovely food. Great service by all. We will be back soon. Thank you for a lovely day. .

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burniston, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“'Perfect'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

I took my son to Matlock Farm Park the other day, this was our second visit in as many months. I was so pleased the first time we had to come back!! Then when i found out they were on here, I thought i would put a review on here too!! My son is 2 and a half and his face just lights up! Its amazing because you can buy a bag of mixed animal feed at the entrance and he can feed all the animals which to a child of his age is just the most wonderful thing, and to any parent, well worth the money to see. I found it educational for him also because there was no pressure to 'keep moving' like bigger zoological parks. You can take your time with all the animals, we went round three times!! All the animals were well looked after and the staff were polite. One member even came and spoke to us and told us all about the chickens. There is a fantastic play area and the kiddies electric cars....we had one each!! Then i got to put him on a 50p tractor ride whilst i sat and had a coffee in the cafe. What more could any parent want?! Spending time with my son is the highlight of my life. and to stumble across a 'little gem' of a place such as this, it just makes every moment with him 'perfect'. Thanks guys, keep up the good work!! We will be back!!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matlock Farm Park also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Matlock Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matlock Farm Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.