We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Animals to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Matlock Farm Park

Matlock Farm Park
Jaggers Lane | Nr. Two Dales, Matlock DE4 5LH, England
01246 590200
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 44 things to do in Matlock
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Matlock Farm Park is a family friendly open farm, providing a great day out with varied activities for all the family. The park has a large selection of animals to see including llamas, goats, peacocks, meerkats, chickens, pigs, alpacas, ducks and red deer to name a few. There are specially designed playgrounds and even a go-kart track for the kids and many places for the adults to relax if they wish.Group party bookings and children's birthday parties are also catered for, please ring for details.There is a licensed cafe serving hot food, a classroom and a gift shop.Horse Riding Lessons and Pony Trekking are also available with prior booking.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lots of Animals to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went recently with the kids, it was a cold day but we still enjoyed it getting the children outdoors. There are lots of farm animals to see here and they are all so friendly. The staff are really nice too. It's not a big place but we took our time walking around and finished off with a cup of tea in the shop. I noticed there looks like there is to be a new building going up, there is a sign saying it will be an interactive barn and cafe.
Still can't get over how friendly the animals were!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    70
    31
    10
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Over-priced for what is there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went hoping to spend a few hours there, but we actually were there well under an hour.
The play area is good for the young visitors, but I would strongly recommend only going on a fair weather day. It was cold and drizzly and even the animals looked miserable.

We had a groupon voucher, so paid a very good price, but I would have been VERY disappointed to have paid full price.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatlockFarmPark, Manager at Matlock Farm Park, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor.
We try to keep our prices to a minimum, for us its always been about creating a place for our animals and not about money.
The entrance fee just about covers our cost for looking after and feeding over 300 animals. Our family pass is cheaper than going to the cinema and you can spend all day with us if you wish.
We are located over 1800m above sea level, so through the winter when the weather is bad it can be pretty bleak, but we still have to feed our animals every day. So this is why we have our winter Groupon offer to encourage people to visit us on the cold and wet days.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good afternoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My Wife and I took our 3 year old daughter who had great fun. she especially loved feeding the animals. There is also electric cars, mini home-made football goals and a ball, a smashing view of the countryside.

I can't remember the cost for entry, but from experience that means I felt at the time it was value for money.

Good day out, worth a visit.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

Took my son (16 month) following Groupon vouchers. Not expensive though and the interaction with all animals was amazing! Next time we will take big sis so she can go on all the parks. I loved it too. Will certainly visit again. Plan about 1hr 30 to see everything. They also have horse riding at an extra cost. Cant wait till the son is bigger.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Too expensive for the size and limited things to do”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Visited matlock farm Park today for the price its too expensive for the lack of size and limited things to do its to much
We was only good an hour and paid nearly £20 there are a good variety of animals one there all really friendly

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Matlock Farm Park also viewed

 
Matlock Bath, Matlock
Birchover, Matlock
 

Been to Matlock Farm Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Matlock Farm Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.