We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great escape from the British weather..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cosy Cup

The Cosy Cup
Causeway Lane, Matlock, England
44 1629 580239
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 17 Coffee & Tea in Matlock
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A great escape from the British weather..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After getting caught out by the weather on a miserable Sunday, we decided to nip into the Cosy cup. Lovely atmosphere & friendly staff, coupled with great food & a good cup of coffee...didn't improve the weather, but set us on our way with a smile. Will be returning! Thank you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    12
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Soup to die for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Found this by accident, as we walked through the park. Had the soup...homemade with butternut squash..yummy, just the right amount of spices. Finished with a lovely cappucino....the cakes looked wonderful, but I was too full from the soup...maybe next time. Love the china teapots filled with flowers on the table

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Lovely decor, delighted view of park but sadly just a coffee stop now....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I have had a coffee here many times and all was well but on this visit my daughter and i ordered a salmon bagel & lavender cake that looked delicious as well as a juice & coffee. Order dutifully taken & 3 members of staff working behind the till..10mins later we were told - lavender cake sold out and ran out of the juice ordered - not a great start. coffee and bagel arrived...coffee lovely as always but £4.25 bagel was simply that - a bagel with what was really a small amount of salmon & alot of cream cheese on a small plate, no salad garnish, nothing extra - just a lonely looking bagel - not what i expected for £4.25 which in all honesty usually gets me a sandwich with a few crisps or a salad side in most coffee shops. Isnt it amazing what a few crisps or a little garnish can do for the presentation of a little old bagel!
The staff seemed to have no idea what they were dong that day and were selling things that were already sold apparently or else why could i see lavender cake but then its unavailable? does no one do stock control? & couldn't they simply pop out for more juice?
Not a great experience - i'll stick to just coffees here in future (which are lovely) and enjoy the view and lovely interior.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Sweet little place with the most delicious cake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I love The Cosy Cup and have visited a few times when in the area. The food is delicious and with fresh delicious cakes on display its a little hard to choose!

The last time we were there our tea was brought out in a beautiful vintage china teapot. The Cosy Cup has a warm and homely atmosphere and the staff have always been lovely when we have visited.

The shop attached has some beautiful and unusual things for sale which is an added draw to the place.

In short I would highly recommend The Cosy Cup to anyone.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I have eaten at the Cosy Cup a couple of times now and can say the food has been delicious.
The ploughman's was very tasty and my friend had the mackerel.
We followed with cake, I had the Red Velvet and it was to die for. My friend had the carrot cake and I can honestly say there was not a crumb left on either of our plates.
Service was very friendly and the second time we visited the staff went out of their way to accommodate us.
We have since called in several times for "Takeaways"

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Cosy Cup also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Cosy Cup? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cosy Cup, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.