We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B -believe the reviews” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glendon Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glendon Guest House
Save
You added Glendon Guest House to your Saves list
Knowleston Place, Matlock DE4 3BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 46 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B -believe the reviews”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is an excellent place to stay and explore the surrounding area.

Hosts - excellent
Rooms - excellent
Breakfast - excellent
Value - excellent

There is also a beautiful lounge that guests can relax in.

You will not be disappointed

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you. We are very happy that you found your stay to be 'excellent'. We hope you are able to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
90
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

A beautifully-appointed guest house, run by two owners who are genuinely interested in their guests having an enjoyable stay, and they do succeed in this - we stayed three nights and each was as good as the last. The breakfast is particularly notable, both in choice and quality.
The guest house has ample parking and free wi-fi, and is within walking distance of the village of Matlock, which is a great base for the Peak District and Chatsworth, amongst others.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is always great to read how much our guests enjoyed their stay. We aim to keep standards high, hence we aim to provide a good selection and cook all breakfasts to order. As you say Matlock is a great place to explore Derbyshire and the Peak District.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Definitely first class accommodation in a good location within easy walking distance of town. The owners are welcoming and obviously have put a lot of thought into what makes a good guest house. The rooms were very comfortable and breakfast was better than 5*.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is very pleasing to know that you rate us as 'better than 5 star'. If you are visiting the area again it would be lovely to welcome you back to Glendon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Wow what can we see to add to the other amazing reviews but safe to say that we came away thinking that we had been thoroughly well looked after. From upgrading us to a larger empty room to providing a cot when we hadn't asked for one we really felt as if the owners genuinely had our best interests at heart. We would definitely visit again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We want all our guests to enjoy their stay with us, which makes your feedback particularly welcome. We are pleased to know you found Glendon enjoyable and accommodating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Wonderful hosts and a truly superb place to stop. Could not fault it. Everything about it was fantastic. Breakfast, accomodation were second to none. Would highly recommend this. This was real value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
It is very pleasing to read how much you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you found Glendon to be excellent value. We aim to provide an excellent standard at a reasonable cost so your review is most welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olney, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Just stayed for one night with my 16 year old daughter. This is a fantastic guest house. Immaculately decorated and the owners are lovely - very friendly and hospitable. Tea and homemade cake on arrival-delicious. Breakfast was plentiful, varied and well cooked. We were in Room 2, which was lively - very comfy beds and a lovely clean en suite with god quality complimentary toiletries. Would I stay here again - you bet!! Cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: We had a room overlooking car park and main road but better than church chiming every 15 minutes! We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your feedback. It is always so nice to read that guests would like to return. If you are visiting the area again it would be a pleasure to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were met at the door by Adrian who helped us to carry our things in, then after showing us to our room asked if we'd like a cup of tea in the sitting room opposite. It was a lovely relaxing room looking out to the park. We were given tea and cake which was delicious. Our bedroom and all the rooms were very tastefully decorated and spotlessly clean, the breakfast was plentiful and well cooked, with a variety of choice. Damien offered to, and booked, a restaurant for us for an evening meal whilst we were out for the day. Nothing was too much trouble for either of these guys and their staff and they treated everyone with utmost courtesy. We loved it so much we can't wait to return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Room 3 is on the first floor and faces out to the main road, so not the quietest room, but it is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, November 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are pleased you has such an enjoyable stay. We want all our guests to enjoy being at Glendon and visiting the area so are happy to have been able to assist where we could.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendon Guest House

Address: Knowleston Place, Matlock DE4 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendon, a fine Victorian house, offers a genuine welcome. An ideal base for leisure and business visitors. Located on the edge of the Peak District we offer individually designed bedrooms with a range of amenities including a silent fridge and Wi-Fi. The sitting room, overlooking Knowleston Gardens, is an ideal place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast is served in the dining room and offers a full choice. Ample parking is available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.