We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing was too much:)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Glendon Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Matlock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Glendon Guest House
Save
You added Glendon Guest House to your Saves list
Knowleston Place, Matlock DE4 3BU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 39 Matlock B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nothing was too much:)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

While attending a training course in Matlock I was lucky enough to stay here for three nights. This place is spotless. I had a double room with en suite, and wouldn't be able to ask for anymore in a hotel room. There is even a SILENT fridge for your cold drinks. Or thing that really stands our here is that they have thought of everything. I am completely lactose intolerant and always have to bring my own LactoseFri milk wherever I go. This place already had it. Not soya, but proper lactose free milk:) and if you are gluten intolerant, they even have all the breakfast cereal for you too. Simple a pleasure to stay here. 'More training courses in Matlock, please'

Room Tip: Ask to be on the side with the river, not the road. Though I am a light sleeper, and had the road si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for your feedback - it is appreciated. We try to be aware of different dietary needs so it is great to have your comments. We glad you enjoyed your time at Glendon whilst in the area on business. We try to provide something different to 'chain' hotels whilst still having a professional approach. If you are in the area again we hope to see yuo back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
78
3
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012 via mobile

Matlock is already a beautiful town, we have wanted to stay in matlock for a while now and glendon guest house is situated in a perfect place. It is near the park, close to the shops and restaurants, and only a short walk away from matlock bath. The house has been decorated beautifully and has a comfortable feel throughout the house, after a great night sleep we had a great breakfast in the morning. The owners were extremely welcoming and friendly, helping us on where to visit and for ideas they made it a joy to stay. We cannot wait to stay again and we are wanting to spend christmas there, as there is a christmas market and the snow makes matlock seem magical. Thankyou for a great stay :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
We are very glad that you enjoyed staying at Glendon. The house is decorated to provide a welcoming and warm environment but also to respect the signifcant historical features and it is great to here you enjoyed this. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

The attention to detail was lovely coffee and cake when we arrived, beautiful four poster, amazing breakfast -would recomend as a great base to explore Chatsworth and surrounding area. Just lovely. Busy thinking of an excuse to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Thank you for this lovely feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much. Derbyshire is a lovely part of the contry and we are lucky to have so many great sights close by too. When you find that 'excuse' to return we look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed her with three friends recently, having all driven from different parts of the country for weekend away. What can I say! This B & B was fantastic. The rooms are light, airy and modern all with a fridge, which is a first for me in a B & B, and very welcome. Tea and coffee making facilities to hand and a proper jug of milk in the fridge! Just what the cuppa needed, no fiddling with little plastic pots.

There was a lovely sitting room where you could gather your thoughts together and talk over the day's events.

Damien and Adrian are lovely hosts and the breakfasts were just out of this world with such an array of choice. We were definitely spoiled here. Jasper the dog was a delight and so well behaved.

Everyone involved with Glendon deserves a pat on the back for a lovely stay, the attention to detail and the friendliness. It is a place I will certainly be recommending. It's in an ideal part of the town and within reach of so many wonderful attractions in the area. I'd forgotten how nice Derbyshire is and will be returning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for the lovely feedback. We have passed your kind feedback to all involved with Glendon. It is lovely to know you enjoyed Glendon and Derbyshire. If you are able to return at some point it would be lovely to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Spent 4 nights in this amazing B and B! The hosts Adrian and Damien were friendly, charming and helpful in every respect. The whole building is immaculate, spotlessly clean and very well thought out. The bedrooms have everything you need and the beds are blissfully comfy - wish I could have taken mine home with me!

The lounge is ideal and the dining room second to none with linen tablecloths and napkins. A huge choice for breakfast - cereals, fruit, compote and full English or whatever part of it you want. They also have specials on every day - something I have never seen in any other B and B. A big thank you to Amanda who served us so pleasantly every morning.

The house overlooks the most gorgeous park with a stream which is a most pleasant place to walk through to get to the main part of town.

Musn't forget Jasper their lovely doggie who is so friendly but so well trained and although I would happily have had him sleep on my bed he knew never to venture into guests or communal areas.

Thank you all for the most relaxing few days!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and in particular the dining rooms and breakfasts. Jasper is feeling quite smug after your comments and has earned a treat!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just arrived home after four nights at this wonderful guest house. We arrived early but were welcomed with open arms and after being shown to our room we were offered coffee and cake in most welcoming sitting room. The guest house was just as described on the internet and immaculate in every way. Breakfast in the morning was a treat in itself with a variety of cereals, fruit and a wonderful cooked breakfast plate. Everyone made you feel special and my husband and I will be recommending this venue to all our friends it has to be seen to be believed.
Thanks again Damien and Adrian for a wonderful stay.
The Browns

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you so much. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and felt welcomed. We try to make our website very clear and an accurate reflection of what we offer so are glad you think this to be the case. It is always great to hear guests say they would be happy to recommend Glendon. We hope you are able to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We have just returned from a 4 day stay at The Glendon. We cannot praise it enough, the house is beautifully decorated, a lot of care and thought has gone into every room. Breakfast was first class every morning, nothing was too much trouble. Thank you Adrian and Damian for a truly wonderful stay. You should both be very proud of your establishment. We will be back and cannot recommend The Glendon highly enough.

Room Tip: Four poster room was faultless.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adrian C, Owner at Glendon Guest House, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Thank you. We aim to provide a very high standard so 'perfection' is lovely feedback. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Glendon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendon Guest House

Address: Knowleston Place, Matlock DE4 3BU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glendon, a fine Victorian house, offers a genuine welcome. An ideal base for leisure and business visitors. Located on the edge of the Peak District we offer individually designed bedrooms with a range of amenities including a silent fridge and Wi-Fi. The sitting room, overlooking Knowleston Gardens, is an ideal place to relax at the end of the day. Breakfast is served in the dining room and offers a full choice. Ample parking is available. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Glendon Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.