We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real Food, Warm Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of PeliDeli

PeliDeli
6 Crown Square, Matlock DE4 3AT , England
+44 1629 56787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 105 Restaurants in Matlock
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery
Description: We are a family run modern british coffee shop. We serve high quality local produce so that we can be sure of the provenance of our food. We offer Salads, Sandwiches, Paninis, Sharing Platters, Quiche, Smoothies, Juices and of course, Barista made coffee (We compete in the UK Barista Championships)We are family friendly and welcome hikers and cyclists. We aim to offer great service to back up the whole experience.
Peak District National Park, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Real Food, Warm Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I always eat at Peli Deli when I'm in Matlock. It's one of those comfy, warming places that make you want to munch all day. The staple menu doesn't change that often - mainly paninis, jacket potatoes and sandwiches, but the snacks are tasty and freshly made. There are also extra specials on the board as well as a choice of cakes (the almond brownie gets a definite thumbs up!) Drinks-wise, you're looking at decent coffee, a selection of teas and smoothies as well as the usual soft drinks.

It's a little cramped inside the cafe, but that just adds to the charm. Big chunky tables and art on the walls. The staff are super-friendly. Shame there's just one toilet, but space is at a premium. One to visit if you're spending some time in Matlock.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    21
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Crich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Truly amazing coffee,”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

I've eaten and enjoyed the coffee here a few times and it never disappoints! Mike and he team are fantastic, I am very fussy about my coffee and constantly get annoyed with mind numbing chains we all know who just don't care, PeliDeli is coffee with passion. You must try the Guinness Cake and the specials Pannini's will tantalise your tastebuds. My 8 year old son thinks its great giving in 10 out of 10 (and he only stopped at 10 as he ran out of fingers!), he really enjoys a ham sandwich and will eat it all even if it doesn't leave room for his cake ( which has never happened anywhere else). Sack those mindless chains and enjoy the real deal.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“So so, so what.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

It's an independently run (so therefore praiseworthy and not suckling a corporate teat) cafe in the middle of Matlock. They've made a go of an outside seating area so you can watch the tourist traffic jams heading to Chatsworth at the weekends. The menu is lazy, comprising weird, trendy panini fillings, which don't actually work. It's trying very hard to be different, which is good, but the absence of any kind of "chef" makes for pretty rubbish mass catering. Friendly though the staff sometimes are, it's not a place I'd recommend to anyone to go out of their way to eat in, though it's a definite step up from the chain-cafes that blight the world.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike B, Owner at PeliDeli, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Errrr, Thank you for this rather odd review, I think? All of our produce is prepared fresh for each order and put together by trained (and excellent) staff members, many of which have worked as chefs and/or in the food industry for many years. Our 'trendy' panini fillings, such as Ham, Gruyere cheese and Real ale chutney, Colston Basset Stilton and Mushroom or Tuna and Derby Cheese melt are on our 'classic' menu and the more out there and wacky combinations (roasted vegetables, smoked goats cheese and sweet chilli sauce for example) are on the 'specials' boards. Sorry you felt they did not work (many look a little wrong until you try them) but as we always offer the option of our specials, classics and also encourage customers to make their own combinations if they are unsure as to our creations we aim to ensure everyone's tastes can always be met at all times. As a result we are sorry you felt we were only average 'mass catering'. I hope you return to try some of the other less trendy combinations and can experience the buzz, ambiance and hubbub of our non corporate pig suckling cafe sometime? Thanks, Mike
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darley Dale, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The best eating establishment in Matlock by far”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Having made many-a-visit to Peli Deli, I have never been disappointed with the food, drinks, service or atmosphere. They will make you a sandwich to your liking, even if it deviates from the menu, providing that they have the ingredients. I do like a plain ham sandwich with salad, or sometimes a Derbyshire Ham and gruyere panini, which is advertised with chutney but I ask for it without the chutney, and they do it no questions asked, all with a great smile. Their milkshakes are perfect too. The music is not too loud, lively or dreary and creates a lovely atmosphere and ambience. To top it all off, Mike, the owner, is a great guy who makes an effort to know the names of regulars and semi-regulars, like myself.

Sit by the windows if you can and world-watch over Crown Square and criticise the abhorrent driving that happens.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Love the food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I use the Peli Deli most weeks: it's my local. The food is great: in particular the salads are very good and are excellent value for money. And the coffee is excellent. Service is always fast and attentive. Prices are very reasonable and compare very well with other 'establishments' in the area. In the summer - we did have one briefly this year - you can sit outside and watch the world go by. In the years I've been going there they've consistently turned out a high quality product. I'd highly recommend them.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed PeliDeli also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to PeliDeli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage PeliDeli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.