We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SATURDAY LUNCH 20 JULY 2013” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Rising Sun Inn Restaurant

The Rising Sun Inn Restaurant
Rise End | Middleton, Matlock, England
01629 823247
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 78 Restaurants in Matlock
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“SATURDAY LUNCH 20 JULY 2013”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Called in to the Rising Sun after a lunchtime walk. Ordered Ham, Egg, Chips & Peas, and Chicken & Mushroom Risotto.

Waited for around 25 minutes for our food to arrive which is acceptable if the food is being freshly cooked. However, my Ham & Egg Chips & Peas was barely warm. The chips looked a little "elderly" and were limp and tepid, as were the eggs and peas. All was served on a cold plate. My wife's Risotto was nice and hot and enjoyed by same. I asked for Brown Sauce when the food was delivered. This eventually arrived about half way through the meal.

Normally I would send food back, but since I was hungry, I ate it quickly, preferring this option to another long wait.

I explained to the waitress the problem with the temperature of the food when she came to clear away the plates. She said the plate had to be cold because of the Ham. This still doesn't explain why the rest of the food should only be tepid when brought from the kitchen?

However, we came to an amicable conclusion with a reduction on the bill.

Would I go again? Yes, because of how they handled the complaint I would give them the benefit of the doubt, and try it again. Also the newly decorated pub interior was pleasant!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    20
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Improvement .”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We eat here on weds 26th June and were impressed by the refurbishment. Good atmosphere with jovial but non-intrusive locals...always a good sign!
We had a similar experience to others in that the food and cooking was of a very good quality . The service was good and friendly but could be a little quicker ...in that we waited 35 mins for starters to appear after ordering, and then the same again for mains after starters had been cleared , so a two course meal took 1 1/2 hours.......but we were not in a hurry so it didn't really matter to us. We would also point out that nearly everyone eating picked much the same time ...so by 8.30pm the place was beginning to clear.... we therefore appreciate that the time was their "rush hour" !
Excellent value at £38 for the two of us for two courses and an excellent bottle of house red wine.
Congratulations to the new owners and pleasant staff; we will visit again !

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Better than before”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

This was our first meal here since the re-vamp. The renovations have really improved the interior of the pub, making it much lighter and brighter.
There was a good choice of food on offer and the food we eventually selected was really good. The service was great for a relatively busy Friday evening. Great choice of ales too.
All in all a great evening out - and within walking distance too. Excellent!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
364 reviews 364 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 183 cities Reviews in 183 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“Lovely experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

We called in here for food last night, we have had drinks there a few times but we decided to go for a bite to eat. The weather was nice so we sat outside with a great view over the hills, there is a lovely garden area with a play area for the kids.

There wasn't much of a wait for the food and when it came it was lovely, freshly cooked and a nice sized portion.

It has all be recently revamped and it looks a really smart place and is very popular. The owners are friendly and we will certainly be returning.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alfreton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Another place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We often pass the Rising Sun on the way up to Carsington Water and have been waiting for the new owners to complete the renovations. Today we called in and were pleasantly surprised because it is also a dog friendly pub so we took our well behaved pouch in and found three other similarly well behaved ones allredy there. it was quite busy and having ordered lunch we had to wait. It was worth the wait and the gammon and egg with hand cut chips was really good and excellent value too. We will definitely be calling in again

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rising Sun Inn Restaurant also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Rising Sun Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rising Sun Inn Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.