We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice walk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cromford Canal

Cromford Canal
Cromford Wharf & High Peak Junction | near Matlock, Derbyshire, Matlock DE4 3RQ, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 16 Attractions in Matlock
Type: Biking Trails, Outdoors
Attraction details
nottingham
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A nice walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

we had a nice walk with our dog it was very pleasant we would walk again and take our granchildren, it was a good distance as we left our car at the staion and picked it up later. the pathway is a nbit muddy at times but normaly ok enjoyed it

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    45
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful Walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We only walked from Cromford Mill to High Peak (which we had visited before) but it was a great experience. Very peaceful and we meet several other "walkers" who were equally enjoying the canal. Take some bread because there are many ducks at Cromford Wharf to feed!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice canal walk”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Cromford canal is in a lovely location, as you walk from the car park there are lovely views on the left, where you can see the train approaching the station. The station cant be seen, but it is only a ten minute walk away. There is a small cafe called the wharf cafe, which is o.k. for a cup of tea. The dog walkers seem to like it there. One of the main put offs for me is the amount of dog mess along the canal path, you have to have your eyes looking down most of the time or it will be all over your shoes. Saying that its worth a visit occasionally.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matlock
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Another pay as you stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Derbyshire Dales council mad this a pay as you stay car park last year,and this year have put the prices up.
On a warm day you can smell the sewerage farm across the bridge.
However if you dash past this, you reack the canal and some very picturesque walks.
Light refreshments are available fro the museum shop.
Gets very busy at the weekends.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“An Afternoon Stroll”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Enjoyable afternoon stroll along the Cromford Canal following a light lunch at the Cauldwell Mill Restaurant. Watching a game of cricket and enjoying an ice cream people watching

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cromford Canal also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Cromford Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cromford Canal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.