We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food and service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shalimar

The Shalimar
Dale Road North | Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HX, England
01629 735999
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Shalimar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 78 Restaurants in Matlock
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic food and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Visited with my parents for a birthday meal. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming and can't do enough for you. The food is freshly cooked and delicious. I will definitely go again and would highly recommend to others.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    614
    84
    22
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Food - Best Indian Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We had an amazing meal on New Yrs Day 2013 - the waiters are extremely helpful and recommended a dish which was pure delight. If your unsure what to order ask for "Shak" he will explain exactly whats what and walk you through the menu

We will most certainly go again, value for money and fine dinning.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Visited with family for the sunday buffet meal, everything was cooked fresh and was really good, service was excellent and staff very friendly. Would recomend this restaurant to my friends.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food, service and attention!! Definitely go!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Brilliant food, chef cooked a dish specially for my husband, not on the menu currently and was awesome! Lovely attentive staff. Definitely recommended!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Lovely food, great service, we walked to The Shalimar as we are local, and they offered us a lift home! We love their takeaways too!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shalimar also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shalimar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.