We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent, expected better however. Great Staff & Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Shalimar

The Shalimar
Dale Road North | Darley Dale, Matlock DE4 2HX, England
01629 735999
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Shalimar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 78 Restaurants in Matlock
Price range: $16 - $39
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
London
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Decent, expected better however. Great Staff & Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We went to the Shalimar after seeing past reviews on tripadvisor. We were in the area for a few nights and fancied having an Indian. We got to the restaurant and the staff we very welcoming. A special mention for Shak who went out of his way. Food wise i thought the restaurant was ok. Having sampled many indian restaurants i expected more but didn't find it here. The restaurant was very busy however so the locals obviously enjoy it. The workers were excellent and a credit to the restaurant.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    612
    84
    22
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best curry ever!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a fantastic meal at Shalimar and the staff were extremely helpful, attentive and friendly! The food was well presented and very tasty! We were offered a free drink at the end of our meal! Overall excellent place to dine.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
matlock
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere with food and service second to none”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

A pleasant greeting was a great first impression.........attentive service with great food,that can be cooked to your precise liking as regards heat.
The car park is large and well marked out and there is outside seating should you wish to brave the elements!
Another great point is that they still provide warmers for the food....I'm a slow eater so found this ideal.
The staff certainly make you feel special without going over the top. The Shalimar certainly deserves it's high ranking on this site

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“A Treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Fantastic Indian restaurant, lovely decor and pleasant and quick service, would be back in a flash if in the area again, oh and thanks for the two free desert dishes!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Good Food with First Class Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

The Shalimar is an excellent Indian restaurant. The waiters are friendly, attentive and do everything to ensure you are enjoying your meal. The menu offers a broad selection of traditional Indian dishes.

Tables are well spaced which ensures privacy.

Overall, an excellent meal with excellent service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shalimar also viewed

 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to The Shalimar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shalimar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.