We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe not Top Thai but Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Thailand No. 1

Thailand No. 1
43 Dale Road, Matlock DE4 3LT, England
01629 584444
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 105 Restaurants in Matlock
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Maybe not Top Thai but Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We have eaten here several times and always enjoy it. Staff are always very friendly and the meals are beautiful with artistically chopped carrots etc. Food tastes pretty good too - we always eat vegetarian so I cannot comment on meat dishes - but the veggie selection is fair and tasty.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    44
    16
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ashby de la Zouch, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Waiting for next visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Lovely atmospheric Thai restaurant. If we live locally so can visit often this restaurant all year round. Lovely decor with a interesting Thai feel and friendly staff. The food is excellent and we appreciate it more now, since our return from Bangkok. Well worth a visit if Matlock

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“I would definitely come back here again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

The food here is top notch. It was so tasty! I had the red Thai curry which was the best I've ever eaten. Our waiter was also very polite and couldn't have been more helpful. We will definitely come here when we visit Matlock again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Where's basil.!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Simply the worst thai food I eber experienced. Ordered famous thai dish with thai basil but it had no basil, asked why and they said thai government doesn't allow export of basil! Unbelievable. Avoid at all cost and go instead to Viva Italian up the road.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“It's no1 for a reason!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I went to this restaurant last Friday night to celebrate my 40th birthday with family and friends. The service was excellent and the food was amazing. Child friendly too, which is an added bonus in my opinion. Overall, a lovely place to eat, would definitely recommend to others and will certainly be returning in the future.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thailand No. 1 also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Thailand No. 1? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thailand No. 1, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.