We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellen House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ellen House to your Saves list
Ellen House
37 Snitterton Road, Matlock DE4 3LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“loved this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Spent a couple of days in matlock march 2012 and found this place.
Booked and received a very friendly call from the owner to confirm everything.
When we arrived they were friendly and very polite.
room was brilliant and looked newly decorated. We loved the biscuits in the room.
brilliant view over there gardens from our room where we watched the squirrels.
All in all an exceptional stay, and we are hoping to come back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for this review, we are pleased that you took the time to post it. We still provide the same biscuits, (crunchies made using my Mom's recipe). The squirrel (nicely rounded and in good condition!) is also still here, and still manages to get to the bird seed that John puts out for the birds. It will be a pleasure to welcome you back for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
93
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

I was in Matlock for one night on a business trip. With stunning views, it is a great gateway to the Peak District. At Ellen House, a short walk from the station, Anne could not have been friendlier. My room was modern and well decorated, with lots of thoughtful touches, like magazines to read. The breakfast was wonderful, featuring pears poached by Anne and eggs poached by John. I also noticed my favourite Dorset Cereals muesli. If I'm in the district again, I would definitely return.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review for us. The Peak District is really stunning and we are fortunate to be right on the edge of the National Park. We are glad that you enjoyed the personal touches, I am an avid reader myself, so can never resist stocking the rooms with magazines! The poached pears are a new addition to our fruit options, and have had many rave reviews, it will definitely be a more permanent item in the colder months! Looking forward to a return visit.
John & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My wife and I have just stayed the weekend at Ellen House for our first wedding anniversary and we would not have changed anything.

Anne and John were the most marvellous hosts and we would recommend them to anyone. The breakfasts were superb - the vegetarian choice was excellent and varied, well beyond the norm - and we felt totally at home.

The room had a veritable encyclopaedia of tourist information in it, the house was within walking distance of all the local amenities, and there were even home-made flapjacks every day in a little pot in the room.

Superb! Thank you!

Room Tip: My wife liked our room (Ilangi, no.2), but after a look round said she might have preferred no.4 as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
What a lovely review! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially as it was such an important date for you. We do try hard to make our vegetarian choices special and interesting and don't substitute the meat with vegetarian sausages, something our vegetarian guests always appreciate. Hope we will see you for the next anniversary as well!
Anne & John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed as a family group to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. Anne and John are amazing hosts nothing too much trouble. The bedrooms were lovely with extras such as homemade flapjacks and bottles of water. The breakfasts were brilliant starting with a fantastic selection of fresh fruit followed by a good choice of cooked breakfast. It was in a great position for exploring the area with a only a very short walk into town with lots of options for eating in the evening. Anne and John also provided much information for things to do in the area.
Would definitely recommend Ellen House to anyone wishing to stay in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
It was a pleasure to be part of this special celebration organised by your family. Thank you for posting this review, it is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast choice, guests always like our fresh fruit platter with the yoghurt!. We do have a lovely position, the fact that we are so close to town and restaurants is really useful, it means you don't have to drive anywhere!
John & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamworth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night and would of loved to stay for ever perfect hosts beautifully kept house and as for the breakfast just like the hosts amazing thank you Anne and John you made us very welcome.....The murphys

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you, it was a pleasure. We will keep on providing those breakfasts!
John & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here just for one night, but would have loved to stay for two. Our room was small but perfectly formed, made up beautifully with all of the usual bits and pieces but with the added extra of two bottles of mineral water and a pot of home-made flapjacks. The bathroom was also small but again had everything we needed.
Breakfast was gorgeous with a nice surprise of some fresh fruit with greek yoghurt, followed by our choice of cooked breakfast which was perfect again.
The hosts are charming.
If I was to be staying near Matlock again, I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we really appreciate it. So glad that you felt that we provide everything to make your stay comfortable with enough packing space in the rooms and bathrooms. It is a pleasure to provide all the extras!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Anne and John are very welcoming and friendly hosts, who made our stay very relaxed and comfortable. Anne's attention to detail and extra thoughtful touches, together with John's delicious cooked breakfast, they make a great team! We can highly recommend Ellen House. A great location for exploring the area. The only downside was that our stay went too quickly! We will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you very much for this lovely review, it is good to know that you felt relaxed and comfortable in our B&B. We also appreciate the fact that you would recommend us, no higher praise than that! Looking forward to a return visit.
John & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellen House

Address: 37 Snitterton Road, Matlock DE4 3LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellen House offers a special stay with the emphasis on excellent service, comfortable rooms and good food. We have a varied English breakfast as well as innovative vegatarian and vegan dishes. We are in the Peak District and close to Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ellen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellen House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.