We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ellen House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ellen House to your Saves list
Ellen House
37 Snitterton Road, Matlock DE4 3LZ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 46 Matlock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed as a family group to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday. Anne and John are amazing hosts nothing too much trouble. The bedrooms were lovely with extras such as homemade flapjacks and bottles of water. The breakfasts were brilliant starting with a fantastic selection of fresh fruit followed by a good choice of cooked breakfast. It was in a great position for exploring the area with a only a very short walk into town with lots of options for eating in the evening. Anne and John also provided much information for things to do in the area.
Would definitely recommend Ellen House to anyone wishing to stay in this area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
It was a pleasure to be part of this special celebration organised by your family. Thank you for posting this review, it is much appreciated. Glad you enjoyed our breakfast choice, guests always like our fresh fruit platter with the yoghurt!. We do have a lovely position, the fact that we are so close to town and restaurants is really useful, it means you don't have to drive anywhere!
John & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
93
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
tamworth
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed here for one night and would of loved to stay for ever perfect hosts beautifully kept house and as for the breakfast just like the hosts amazing thank you Anne and John you made us very welcome.....The murphys

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you, it was a pleasure. We will keep on providing those breakfasts!
John & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here just for one night, but would have loved to stay for two. Our room was small but perfectly formed, made up beautifully with all of the usual bits and pieces but with the added extra of two bottles of mineral water and a pot of home-made flapjacks. The bathroom was also small but again had everything we needed.
Breakfast was gorgeous with a nice surprise of some fresh fruit with greek yoghurt, followed by our choice of cooked breakfast which was perfect again.
The hosts are charming.
If I was to be staying near Matlock again, I would definitely book here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review, we really appreciate it. So glad that you felt that we provide everything to make your stay comfortable with enough packing space in the rooms and bathrooms. It is a pleasure to provide all the extras!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Anne and John are very welcoming and friendly hosts, who made our stay very relaxed and comfortable. Anne's attention to detail and extra thoughtful touches, together with John's delicious cooked breakfast, they make a great team! We can highly recommend Ellen House. A great location for exploring the area. The only downside was that our stay went too quickly! We will return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Thank you very much for this lovely review, it is good to know that you felt relaxed and comfortable in our B&B. We also appreciate the fact that you would recommend us, no higher praise than that! Looking forward to a return visit.
John & Anne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
woodland hills california
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Not sure exactly where to start but let me say that if you are planning on visiting the Peak District then I would heartily recommend you stay here. Everything about our stay here was outstanding. The room was warm and inviting, the food was way beyond delicious. The vegetarian breakfast selections were amazing, the table perfectly set up with lovely little dishes and tableware. The homemade jams and the " crunchies " in our room were lovely little personal touches that just added to our stay. John and Anne were both very personable and engaging and made us feel extremely welcome. We even managed to get a glimpse of John's legs during our final breakfast ! We couldn't have hoped for a better ending to our stay !

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
We appreciate the fact that you have taken the time to post a review for us. We are really pleased that you enjoyed our scrummy vegetarian breakfasts, we often have meat eaters asking for the vegetarian options once they see the dishes coming through! The little jam dishes as well as our jam spoons are special as they were made by local craftsmen in South Africa. So glad John's legs deserves a mention on Trip Advisor, it is a sign that we had some sunshine!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We were very happy with our B&B. We are both in the hospitality industry and love our mini breaks. Especially loved the homemade cookies, our waffle dressing gowns, homemade jams, reading material on the landing, tasteful arte facts adorning the walls, duke the English bulldog,
Can definitely the fishpond as a place to eat at Matlock Bath 2 mins on the train or a twenty minute stroll. Its a meeting place for bikers.
Anne and John were most charming and helpful. The b&b is situated 2 mins walk from centre of matlock. Lots of shops and a pretty place to wander.
Extremely enjoyable

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you for the lovely review, we are glad you liked our decor that is influenced by Africa. We will keep the homemade jams and crunchies coming as it is a real hit with our guests. It is great that you found our location so convenient, we really are only 5 minutes away from the town centre and restaurants. By the way, we totally agree that Duke, our English bulldog, is a real sweetie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

I stayed here with my husband, and another couple of friends whilst walking. Anne and John were very welcoming, our rooms were very comfortable and stylish with some nice touches. The We stayed for 10 nights and never had the same breakfast. I was so pleased to have a proper tea pot in the room, and there was a small cafetiere with freshly ground coffee. Every day, Anne added a couple of delicious home made cakes. The breakfasts were absolutely outstanding. There's a very good choice, including vegetarian and vegan selection. But most mornings John came in and told us what he was planning for the next day's breakfast, and these were exciting and interesting choices over and above the menus. Whatever we chose, it was preceded by a beautifully presented dish of fresh fruit and Greek yogurt. We stayed for ten nights, and we had ten different breakfasts! Whilst we were there, we had a couple of problems with power cables for various pieces of equipment we had with use, but both times John came up with exactly the right thing. Anne and John are kind and caring hosts, and clearly enjoy doing whatever is necessary to make their guests' stay as enjoyable as possible. This is without doubt the best guest house I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EllenHouse, Owner at Ellen House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a glowing review and for the compliments about Ellen House and the amenities and services we offer. We love it that you enjoyed our breakfast menu, the fact that you were willing to veer from the traditional full English (as delicious as it is!), and try John's Eggs Benedict and his South African Breakfast as well as variations on our vegetarian options made it possible to ensure something new every morning. It will be great to see you again, although you have truly walked most of the Peak District during your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ellen House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ellen House

Address: 37 Snitterton Road, Matlock DE4 3LZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Matlock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Matlock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ellen House offers a special stay with the emphasis on excellent service, comfortable rooms and good food. We have a varied English breakfast as well as innovative vegatarian and vegan dishes. We are in the Peak District and close to Chatsworth House and Haddon Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ellen House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ellen House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.