We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stones Restaurant

Stones Restaurant
1C Dale Road, Matlock DE4 3LT, England
01629 56061
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Stones Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 78 Restaurants in Matlock
Price range: $24 - $40
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Dinner - Tuesday to Saturday 6.30-9pm. Lunch - Wednesday to Saturday 12-2pm. Tucked away in the heart of idyllic Matlock, Derbyshire, Stones is a modern, eclectic restaurant with a stylish, welcoming interior and a superb modern British menu. The restaurant, which added a new riverside conservatory in May 2013, is jointly run by Kevin Stone, Head Chef, partner, Jade Himsworth and sister, Katie Temple. Stones' riverside conservatory overlooks the babbling River Derwent. The menus change seasonally to reflect the very best in local produce, and the wine to match the food. Stones' philosophy is to provide a fantastic dining experience in a relaxed setting. The dining room which is popular with couples, locals and visitors, is a perfect place for romantic, family or business meals. Stones has been awarded two AA Rosettes for culinary excellence.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Hadn't been to Stones since the refurbishment, the food as always was wonderful. The atmosphere is relaxing & the service spot on. We didn't have the time to sit ouside for a pre-dinner drink wish we had it looks amazing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Pauline,

Many thanks for joining us at Stones.

It’s very pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed your experience. I do hope that next time you get a chance to take a pre-dinner drink on our riverside terrace – it’s wonderful at this time of year.

Best regards,
Jade Himsworth
Owner, Stones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    308
    34
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Contemporary and classy with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

What a fantastic location for our Buffet lunch time visit. Sadly, we were unable to take advantage of the views of the river from the terrace as.... it was pouring down. This, however, did not dampen our spirits as this is a fantastic little Restaurant!
We had pre ordered a Buffet Lunch for 30 and it was presented beautifully and there was an abundant supply of delicious flavours - the Haddock and Spring Onion Fish Cakes were delicious as was everything that was served. The varied dessert selection was also a bonus.
Jade, Kevin, Katie and the Team have a great set up and I wish I lived nearer so I could visit on a regular basis.
An extremely well run establishment!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Dear Lesley,

Thank you for taking the time to leave such an upbeat review, we very much appreciate it.

It was our pleasure to host you and your guests, I do hope you’re able to return at some point in the future.

Very best regards,
Jade Himsworth
Owner, Stones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izegem, Belgium
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Dining with style: great taste, splendid presentation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

After each journey to England, friends ask me: how was the food? Did you eat well? And each time I have to tell them: of course! And this time after having diner at Stones restaurant I tell them: food and eating out is great.
I made a reservation at Stones for 8 people (with friends from Belgium) in total on a Friday evening. The apero was accompanied with some amuse-gueules, you only get served occasionally in restaurants in England. This already demonstrates the attention for detail. Different starters, and mains were chosen.
I started with the “ASPARAGUS AND SLOW POACHED EGG parma ham, pea mousse” and took the “ROASTED RACK OF LAMB AND CRISP BLACK PUDDING fondant potato, peas, asparagus” as main dish to end with “SELECTION OF BRITISH CHEESES assorted biscuits, homemade tomato chutney” as desert.
Just one and the same comment afterwards from everyone: it was great! Very nice taste, nice presentation and combination of different flavours.
Friendly service for free!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Chris,

It’s always pleasing to read a positive notes but, in some ways, it’s even more gratifying to read and international review!

It is really very pleasing to read how much you enjoyed dining with us at Stones. I do hope next time you’re back with us in the UK, you’re able to return and enjoy our constantly changing seasonal menu.

Best Regards,
Jade Himsworth
Owner, Stones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wedding Anniversary Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

Stones of Matlock proved to be a perfect choice for our special occasion being located close to the river Derwent and they have an outside patio for pre- dinner drinks.The food was excellent quality and the waitress service was unrushed making for a very relaxing dinner. The establishment also provided some extra touches, which added to our enjoyment - our sincere thanks to the staff at Stones for making our day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Terry,

It’s very pleasing to hear how much you enjoyed joining us for dinner at Stones. The Derwent really is beautiful at this time of year – I’m pleased you were able to enjoy it so much.

Best regards,
Jade Himsworth
Owner, Stones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

My wife and l visited stones last Friday lunch time for the first time the restaurant had been recommended we had a very pleasant lunchtime the service was excellent and the food was great the wine was very reasonably priced we shall definitely be returning thanks to all concerned
Doug Bull
Ripley

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lovesfood1, Owner at Stones Restaurant, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Dear Doug,

Many thanks for those kind words on lunch at Stones.

Best regards,
Jade Himsworth
Owner, Stones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stones Restaurant also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock, Derbyshire
 

Been to Stones Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stones Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.