We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for a treat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maazi Indian Restaurant

Maazi Indian Restaurant
25 Causeway Lane, Matlock DE4 3AR, England
+44 1629 582534
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 105 Restaurants in Matlock
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Dining on a budget, Entertaining clients, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Maazi literally translates as "History" and is a vision to create a fusion of 18th Century Mogul Indian and contemporary styles. It is set in the Old Ritz Cinema in Matlock, with fantastic views overlooking the Hall Leys Park and the river Derwent.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice for a treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

I have been to the Maazi twice, once with a group of friends and once on Valentine's night with boyfriend. Really enjoyed it both times, the decor is beautiful and gives it a warm and modern vibe. It is always busy so good atmosphere too but not too loud. Staff are helpful and there is a lot on the menu. The only downfall is the price, drinks are quite expensive and so is the food. I'm never one to mention money.. it was nearly £40 pp for only one drink and one main course with bread. I think you pay for the surroundings more than anything. Would go a lot more if the price was more reasonable for what you get. Overall lovely for a treat or occasion.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    271
    81
    35
    20
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Good food with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

Have had many take-aways and all have been plentiful and of good value. The set meal for 2 provides more than enough for 2 people and could stretch to 3. The staff are very friendly and never forget your name when you go back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
1 review
“#well#good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We ad er well gud time and the staff is well frendly n the food is megers gud. I recomend vis 2 all der masses!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

Our party of four hadn't booked but a table was found for us as long as we had finished by eight o'clock. Prompt service, great menu. One of the waiters was clearly having a bad day with cursory comments and no eye contact but this didn't overly detract from the experience! I would recommend this place.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Authentic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

Having been to Maazi several times, we have always had a warm and friendly welcome, very good authentic Indian food and good service. The waiters are always willing to explain and recommend any dishes. As it is always busy, especially at weekends, if you visit early in the evening you do feel rushed and it's obvious the staff want you to vacate your table. They do a take-away and delivery service, but nothing beats the buzz of the place - but it is a shame about the over-booking. Tables near the window are lighter (it can look a bit dark on the opposite side) and have a good view over the park.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maazi Indian Restaurant also viewed

Matlock, Derbyshire
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Matlock Bath, Matlock
 

Been to Maazi Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maazi Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.