We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a drink....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Inn

Castle Inn
Castle Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DU, England
01629 812103
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 61 Restaurants in Bakewell
Cuisines: Dessert, English, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Dessert
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

Been to The Castle loads and loads of time, as a local and fairly regular customer. Its a wonderful tradiotnal pub, and in my opinion the best and only one i drink in in Bakewell. Its traditional, not twee or faux classic, its just old and classy. Nice open fires, and popular with tourists, and most importantly locals. It has a good, and often great selection of ales (recommend the Abbey Moonshine). Prices are steep, but this is Bakewell, so the prices are somewhat justified.

Food. Eaten here a good number of occassions, noth in the week, and Sunday carverys. To be honest, the Sunday carvery isnt particularly great. Its basic, nothing particularly memorable, and you can do much better than this by cooking at home. Weve previously had undercooked vegetables, and roast potatoes that were frozen in the middle (did complain, but by the time the gave us replacements we'd finished our meals).

Eating in the week is a little better. Reasonable choice on the menus, food is generally good, although personally i do still find it a little over priced / portions too small. Again, nothing to complain about the food, but its nothing extra special either. My only recommendation is to treat this as pub food, and not a restaurant.

Staff and service are excellent.

Overall a 4 out of 5, based really on the building, the staff and the ales. Food i'd give it 3.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    51
    16
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leek, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Good lunch, reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

Visited The Castle several times , each time the place has a nice friendly atmosphere.Varied menu and reasonably priced.Food is fresh and well presented, served in quick time.Staff very attentive.Bakewell is a lovely place to visit and The Castle is situated in the centre so easily accessable

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 97 cities Reviews in 97 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Good food, good beer, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a very good pub meal here one Saturday night. They took a booking for 6 (which is handy, much better than hoping for a table). Good pub food (a really good steak, amongst other things) nicely presented. Good choice of real ales, and a good atmosphere. its a busy pub, but that makes the atmoshere. Well worth a try.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Such bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

The pub itself is comfortable and accepted dogs, so after a long walk we were looking forward to some good home cooked food. That wasn't however what we got. Totally processed, microwaved food. This is a chain pub so nothing was cooked from scratch, the mixed grill was just fat and gristle on a plate, and my fish dish was dripping in oil, and the biggest dissappointment was the frozen chips . Our dog was happy though, he got all the meat so at least they had one happy customer. Didn't expect such poor quality in such a beautiful town. complained about the chips but was told they were a chain and were told what to serve.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fine”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

When a woman says "fine" a guy ought to know she isn't fine. It has rooms, has a bar, does food. Fine.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Castle Inn also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.