We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle Inn Bakewell

Save Saved
You added Castle Inn Bakewell to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Castle Inn Bakewell
Castle Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 38 Bakewell B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A good place to eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We had a meal here on a Saturday in November.We got a table easily near the window so we could people watch.The menu isn't `t over extensive but we both chose something we both liked right away.The food came and it was pleasant enough.Not too much but enough.It was hot and tasted freshly cooked.The staff were pleasant and friendly and we would eat here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    51
    28
    15
    6
See reviews for
21
76
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

We had dinner here tonight - we had some misgivings about it being a chain pub, but the menu looked ok and it was fairly busy while most other pubs in Bakewell were almost empty, so we thought that was a good sign. Unfortunately it was pretty poor - my meal was on the tasteless side of ok, and they even managed to do a bad job of burger and chips (chips undercooked in middle & overdone on outside, and burger was very chewy). Food took quite a while to arrive as well, but we appreciated that it was quite busy. When there are so many good places to eat which serve great food for around a tenner, it's totally unacceptable for pubs/restaurants to dish up poorly prepared, lukewarm, bland food like we've just had.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Lovely staff food great and the service and welcome lovely. If you happen to be here to be served by staff member Pete well your in for a treat the man can't do enough for you he make sure your food is nice and hot and never dried out and runs around like crazy to keep all well fed and happy top notch pub

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

It's located on the first floor of the building near the pub/restaurant (which was very good); that makes it a little bit noisy during lunch or evening hours. The room was quite big, and also the bathroom; there were also wi fi and hot chocolate and tea facilities. We had some problem with the car parking because there wasn't any place at our arrival (we specified we had a car) and the waitress/barwoman/receptionist was very busy to help us.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Six of us stayed here earlier this year for a walking weekend, and we all found it very clean and comfortable, although the bedroom at the back was over the kitchen and the noise from the extraction fans was a bit loud, but it did stop at about 10ish.
The food was excellent with a very good breakfasts that kept us going during our walks, and the staff were all very helpful, especially the lady who cooked the breakfasts.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed here for one night whilst at a wedding in Bakewell. Location was excellent, just on the main road close to shops and cafes, at £70 was the cheapest place in the vicinity and the room was clean, well maintained and the bed was comfortable, had a great night's sleep and there was no noise or anything from the street. The rooms were above the pubs garage and our room (4) was next to an extractor fan which was a bit noisy but as the fan was turned off at 10pm this was no problem for us, the friendly gentleman who checked us in let us know about the fan and would have moved us if it was an issue. We didn't eat in the pub but as regular Greene king visitors I would recommend all their pubs!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Neots Cambridgeshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Wife and I had an evening meal here. The service was quick and pleasant the food was good for the price.

If you are looking for high quality establishment and food, this is not the place for you; but this was the least expensive place we had a meal and the food quality was pretty good and decent portions unlike other places. The drinks were also reasonably priced and cheaper than others.

All in all a pleasant experience but better quality exists at a higher price.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Castle Inn Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Inn Bakewell

Address: Castle Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Castle Inn Bakewell reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Inn Bakewell Hotel Bakewell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle Inn Bakewell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.