We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bakewell's Best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Piedaniels

Piedaniels
Bath Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1BX, England
+44 1629 812687
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Bakewell
Price range: $22 - $47
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Kingswinford
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Bakewell's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

We arrived on-spec bang on 2:00 p.m. (open 12:00-14:00 for lunch) but they had no problem accommodating us for lunch. The service was simply impeccable - friendly, attentive but not overt and with good humour - and the food was delicious. We went for the great value set menu (£14 for 2 course or £16 for 3) and there was an excellent choice available. Just off the beaten track in Bakewell (on bath Street) - i.e. 1 minute walk from town centre - and weel worth hunting down. Go, enjoy, be amazed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    44
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great value, excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We had the set price £16 three course menu which was really excellent. Great service and civilised ambience. Very good value for money.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Superb quality food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

As the title says, superb food and service in a restaurant with a great atmosphere and ambiance.
Excellent value fixed price menu with plenty of choices to cater for all tastes.
Fantastic wine list, with wines from around the globe!!
Piedaniels truly deserve their No1 ranking, a true and complete eating experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding food esp considering how small the town is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Brilliant food esp I'd recommend the black pudding starter - it's one of the only things that doesn't change when the menu does

Great quality and good wine list; really impressed as well considering how small the place is

Book ahead some days can be busy I'm told; when we were there it was a bit too quiet actually

Makes a good change from pub food

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“What a treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Right from the start, popping my head throught the door Saturday lunch time to enquire about a table that evening, I was greeted by a very friendly welcoming lady . to the beautiful decor, food and friendly and efficient staff, faultless, had a lovely evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piedaniels also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Piedaniels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Piedaniels, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.