We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Monsal Head Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Monsal Head Hotel to your Saves list
Monsal Head Hotel
Monsal Head, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bakewell
wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cracking hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Beautiful locatated, dog friendly hotel with excellent food and beer

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    71
    34
    32
    19
See reviews for
67
122
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2011

1960's feel; really poor decor; place looks tired; bedside table was chipboard; dining room tables were someone's rejects. Bathroom door didn't lock; pen provided in room was broken. Absolutely no attention to detail - hugely disappointed. Room was incredibly hot; tried to compensate with open window but traffic noise precluded good night's sleep. Could/should have been so much better. Food adequate but nothing to write home about. Expensive and very poor value for money.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2011

Had a brilliant stay at this hotel. Visited with husband and 4 children. The rooms were lovely, views amazing and breakfast was really good - whatever we wanted off the menu - and we had lots!! We left well sustained to tackle our days walking. This is probably a hotel best visited to enjoy the accommodation and the views. l've read other reviews which have been critical about waiting times for food at lunchtimes and l can imagine that at busy times this could be a problem. The hotel as a whole seemed quite light on staff - but all those we met were very helpful and pleasant. we stayed on a really good deal and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

My husband & I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights & we also stayed in 2007 for 4 nights. The hotel is in a stunning location & the views are second to none. Every staff member we met was very friendly & helpful. Our room was at the front of the hotel so overlooked the dale & a beautiful start to the day. The room was very comfortable & clean & the complimentary sherry & chocolates were a nice touch. The bed was very comfortable & the linen & towels exceptionally good quality & clean. Our breakfast was delicious & huge as were our other meals. Both times we have visited we have realy enjoyed the food as it is of a very high standard & cooked to perfection. The Stable next door is quaint & a great place to sit & have a meal. It is very cosy with the fire alight & the local people are happy to chat & give advice as are the staff. The hotel had undergone a lot of refurbishment since our last visit & this has been done to a good standard. Apparently the room are to be reburbished next but we like the rooms anyway as they are rustic & fit in well with the atmosphere of the area.
I am very surprised to read some of the previous reviews & would highly recommend that people not be put off by them. To put our review into perspective our last hotel stay was at The Waldorf Hilton in London, which is 5 star. We would much rather stay at the Monsal head because it is unique & quaint. We were worried we wouldn't enjoy this stay as much as the first but it was just as good & we can't wait until our next stay. We certainly won't be waiting so long.

Room Tip: Quaint & unique with stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2011

We came to the Monsal Head Hotel for lunch while on a long walk around this glorious area. I wanted to show my boyfriend this pub which used to be great - it served cheap and simple food. I was a bit surprised to find the menu rather more ambitious than before, rather expensive, and was even more surprised when he had to queue for 25 minutes just to place the order. There simply weren't enough staff on. Then after we'd waited 45 mins for our food, we asked the waiter what had happened. He promised to chase it but another 10 minutes passed without him coming back to us. I then got hold of him, and was told that it had just been put in the oven! By that time we were too angry to stay any longer and demanded an immediate refund. Even though it was 3 pm by that time the queue and the wait for food were no shorter. I shall never go there again and my former happy memories of it have been spoiled.
Having read the review on this site now, though, I'm glad we didn't have any food!!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2011

Either this hotel does not know about Trip Advisor or, if they do, and have read the adverse critisms, they do not care. The hotel is in a renowned Derbyshire beauty spot, and presumably they have the monopoly and business is good! We were taken there by friends. This is English catering at it's very worst! A surly young man manning the Stable bar with a dirty apron. Grey tough steak, French fish soup with everything wrong about it. The other people's comments say it all - we can't add very much more. We cannot comment on the facilities of the Hotel as we only sampled the Stable bar which is in a separate building from the Hotel.

Room Tip: No knowledge of hotel, ate in Stable Bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

My partner and I went to the Monsal Head Hotel for lunch this Saturday. It had been recommended to us by a couple of reliable/well travelled friends, so we trusted their reviews and gave it a go. We had both been to Monsal head per se and the past as it's a local(ish) beauty spot. The views from that place are absolutely stunning, no other word describes the view! The hotel itself is a collection of buildings and is the only group of buildings for a long way.
We looked into a building called "The Stable" first. It appeared very cosy, a real fire was going, stone floors, wooden pew style benches, and a busy atmosphere. It was, however, full. No member of staff dealt with us hanging around and we stood for a few minutes with a large gaggle of tourists just milling about wondering what to do or whether to hover near an occupied table and pounce. We decided to try the main building. Walking into the dining room was like walking into a very grand Parisian dining room, except it wasn't. It wasn't as nice, like it was half finished. The staff were very friendly, young, but woefully understaffed. We waited 15 minutes for our drinks to arrive (I had to remind them) for a start, which put my heckles up a little. We both chose food from the "snack" part of the menu. My steak sandwich was labelled as "Rib eye". If that thin, grey, tasteless meat was rib eye then I'm a restaurant critic! My partners fish soup was luke warm and the bread was a small lump of white, plasticine nothingness. I had to ask for sauces for my chips, there were black bits in my lemonade, and we sat amongst 7 or 8 tables which still had dirty plates etc on them for at least 20 minutes. It was like a truck-stop cafe. The sticky toffee pudding was lovely. It didn't belong in this place!
I can't fault the blonde haired girl who appeared to be the only one doing anything, but she looked like she was going to collapse at any moment from lack of help and support. On paying the bill, my partner asked her if it was always this busy (half the tables were empty by the way, but it was as if the whole place was completely full) and the waitress said "well no, but we have to take drinks from the Stables to here, and food in the opposite direction". It sounded bizarre to say the least. Anyhow, the more expensive looking food - lamb shank, sausages, Venison, Sea Bass, looked well presented, but I wouldn't eat from the "snack menu" again. God only knows what this place is like at the height of the tourist season!!! So my advice is - Come and look at the view from Monsal head, it's breathtaking, but bring a picnic.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Monsal Head Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Monsal Head Hotel

Address: Monsal Head, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Peak District National Park > Bakewell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Bakewell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Monsal Head Hotel is situated at the peak of the Monsal dale. The hotel itself is steeped in history whilst the Stables bar which has stood the test of time for over 200 years still holds the quirky values today as it did then. Offering a fine selection of beers supplied by local micro breweries. Food is of the highest offering with everything from light bites to hearty meals with an enphasis on good quality local produce all made on the premises. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Monsal Head Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Monsal Head Bakewell

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Monsal Head Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.