We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Garden Tea Room

The Garden Tea Room
Bank Croft | Dale Road Over Haddon, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1JE, England
+44 1629 810595
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 61 Restaurants in Bakewell
Cuisines: Bakery
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small open air Tea Room set in the Derbyshire countryside overlooking the Peak National Park. The Tea Room is set on our terrace with seating for 24. All of our cakes are home made in our kitchen using local produce and the best ingredients. We serve a variety of coffees and various tea's including fruit, green and decaf tea. We also have a selection of cold drinks. We try to cater for customers who require gluten free by providing at least one cake which is gluten free. Dogs are very welcome with fresh water and dog biscuits provided. You can find us by heading from the village,down Dale Road towards the Dale, past St Annes Church on the left, we are located on the right hand side of the lane, we do have a sign out but if you have difficulty finding us please give us a call and we will come and find you.X
Garforth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A hidden delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

After reading reviews on trip adviser paid a visit on a walk from Bakewell and were so pleased we did. Wonderful views, tea, coffee, hot chocolate and cakes to die for. They even cater for dogs! We were so relaxed we could have stayed all afternoon. Just go down the hill past the church on the left and you'll see it on the right hand side.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, we're so pleased you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for putting directions on how to find us we will amend our page to let people know we are down the hill. Hopefully you will have a chance to visit us and the Lathkill Dale again soon. Thank you once again. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This Peak District's hidden secret is a jewel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

This is a delightful little tea room, it feels like you're VIP, such lovely owners, the cakes are huge and to die for, the coffee is great, and the views will make you want to stay forever. Well worth it, especially before/after rambling down Lathkill Dale! Oh, also, very, very dog-friendly, which makes for a nice change :-)!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
We are very pleased you enjoyed your visit to us, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. The Lathkill Dale is lovely and well worth the walk. Doggies get served first and we are hopefully maintaining the standard of biscuits we offer, Teddy and Maisie are our quality control. We hope to see you again soon and once again thank you for the kind review. Kindest regards Karen, Mark, Teddy and Maisie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Lovely views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

A great stop off after a walk with fabulous views. Coffee tea and home made cakes ( including gluten free) really lovely in a great setting. Very friendly host

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thank you for your kind review we are pleased you enjoyed your visit and the views the Dale is very pretty. Hopefully you will have a chance to visit again but in the meantime thank you once again for stopping off. Kindest regards Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Julie S - Wonderful Relaxing Tea Room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

After a lovely long walk through Lathkill Dale, myself, my husband and son called at The Garden Tea Room for some much needed refreshment. We were delighted by the welcoming owners (and their lovely doggie) who provided us with tea and fizzy drink and some delicious homemade cakes. To sit in their lovely garden overlooking a delightful view was an added bonus. Will definately visit again if we are in the area and will recommend to our friends and family. (We do hope the lost bunch of keys were claimed that my husband left with you). Thank you again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Hi Julie, thank you very much for taking the time and trouble to give us a lovely review, we are glad you enjoyed the cakes and the views and so pleased the weather was good for your visit. No one came back for the lost keys but we will keep hold of them just in case. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Many thanks and kindest regards. Karen and Mark.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell
2 reviews
“Open again for the Summer”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Once again the tea room on the way down to Lathkill Dale from the Over Haddon car park is open for the summer. See picture for the size of cake you get. And the Eccles cake is big enough for two. All freshly baked every day. Even our dogs were not forgotten as there is water and a selection of dog biscuits for them too.

The tea terrace is located near the top of the hill out of the dale so is ideally situated for a refreshment stop before getting back to the car park.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karen C, Owner at The Garden Tea Room, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Thanks Chris for the lovely review, we are pleased to be open again and hopefully we will have another lovely season. We are looking to expand on the cakes we provide but will still do the favourite ones, this includes the dog biscuits!! Thank you once again for taking the time to give us the review and hopefully we will see you again soon. Kindest regards Karen and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Garden Tea Room also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to The Garden Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Garden Tea Room, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.