We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Virgin Balloon Flight, Martin Cowling, Perth, Fantastic.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell

Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell
| Bakewell Showground, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AQ, England
0844 576 7532
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 5 Activities in Bakewell
Type: Amusement/ Theme Parks, Adventure
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A balloon ride over Bakewell will offer you the perfect panoramic views of the beautiful Peak District. You will be able to follow the paths of the River Derwent and the River Wye which wind their way through the Derbyshire countryside, ensuring the idyllic balloon ride with a superb taster of the Derbyshire scenery.
Glenrothes
1 review
“Virgin Balloon Flight, Martin Cowling, Perth, Fantastic.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Took to the Air over Perth 2 days ago after a lengthy wait & several cancellations due to the temperamental Scottish weather. I fact we were up the previous morning as well for about 15 minutes but some fog or low cloud suddenly rolled down from the hill and we had to cut land a little early. So my friend & I had the best of both worlds when we were invited to fly again next evening and what an experience we had! Our pilot Martin Cowling and his crew were great company from start to finish. We (the passengers) got involved (willingly) in the assembly and preparation of the equipment prior to take off.
At "Take Off" there was a great sense of adventure & a little apprehension but mostly exhilaration, slowly and silently (except for the occasional blast from the gas bottles) drifting higher & higher. Once up around 2500 feet on a beautiful evening Martin pointed out any places of interest and generally kept the atmosphere jolly with his easy going manner.
Now for the landing....before we took off we all had a safety briefing and were shown our position for landing, Martin pointed to our landing site (a recently cropped hay field) and told us to take up our landing positions. He then advised it would be a little bumpy " so hold on" 5, 4, 3, 2, 1...Big Bump...little bump,bump....Big bump, Big Bump, bump,bump,bump then the basket was on it's side and we were all seated but on our back laughing and waiting for the balloon to deflate so we could get out of the basket.
Now we're out and looking around the cornfield feeling pretty pleased with ourselves feeling like pioneers and wishing the whole thing could start again.
We help pack up all the equipment then Martin pours the Bubbly (we had some yesterday) and we toast our great experience. The minibus arrives to return us to our start point and it's over (but we have some fascinating pictures) all to soon.
I would love to do it all again, Thanks to Virgin & Martin Cowling.

Bert C & John S

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corby Glen
1 review
“Rutland Water Baloon Flight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Had a lovely early morning flight taking off from Rutland Water, beautiful sunny morning. Martin the pilot was very knowledgable pointing out points of interest along the route. The ground crew were with us very quickly and packing the baloon away was more fun than you may first think!!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Safe patient staffing. Sensible decisions. Great experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Orange juice provided (read earlier review). AM flight so at the Bakewell Showground at 6am which is early but gives you the rest of the day to enjoy the area. Balloon arrived on time and the crew kept us busy and entertained until a few latecomers arrived. Sensible (keep-it-light) safety briefing with the key points reinforced just before takeoff and landing. Crew and pilot clearly keeping an eye out of customers about to do something daft and pleasantly sorting them out. Useful and interesting information given. Not a windy day so the flight was straightforward, kept our interest for the hour or so and was long enough to get the feel of it. Obviously we would have liked longer but the hour was the deal.
For some others on the trip this was their 12th attempt to fly or it had taken over 15 months to fit in a flight. For us it was our 2nd attempt. My brother gave in after a year and switched to a different activity. We were glad that the previous week's flight was cancelled. Despite that day's low cloud and fresh wing it would have been flyable but the cancellation was down to not likely to be a really memorable experience - today's was - all credit to the pilot for not just getting them over and done with but thinking about the punters.
The only thing that grated slightly was the gender-specific role assignments - men lift the balloon, women pack it into the bag (for example) - but that probably says as much about me as about the crew.
A great way to start the day.Crystal clear written and spoken instructions.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Virgin ballon flight TELFORD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

wish we were up in the ballon longer than 1 hour, that just seemed to fly by excuse the pun! the crew were very friendly and of course mother nature was beautiful to view up in the skies. If anyone is wishing to do this and would possibly want people to watch them go up in the air my advice would be to go for the PM flight as the AM one is extremely early!

it is a beautiful experience and if you are up in the air with quite people who are just soaking in the scenery as i was today then it is most perfect for meditation !!! soaking in all of that beautiful scenery! Its a Great way to make an anniversary or birthday! I would have marked it excellent if we were up in the balloon longer and we had strawberrys with the champagne or orange juice. besides that it is VERY VERY GOOD ! :o) go for it!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leics
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Virgin Balloon flights, Rutland Water”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Despite an early start (0545hrs) we couldnt have asked for a better day to try this. From start to finish it was brilliant - despite the A1 being unexpectedly shut and the vehicle bringing the balloon having to take a detour. Everyone was very friendly and we all mucked in to help get the balloon inflated. One of my abiding memories will be lying in the basket as 'ballast' and laughing hysterically with my frieds whilst lying on our backs,hanging onto the hand holds. Really, you have to try it! Taking off, we floated majestically away across Rutland water, the views were fantastic and Ian, the pilot, made the balloon do 360 degree turns so we could all see absolutely everything. We were in the air for 1 hr 10 mins, and landed north of Bourne. The ground crew were with us within 10 minutes, and we had another great time getting the balloon back into its basket, swiftly followed by a Bucks Fizz to celebrate! Would I do it again? you bet!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Virgin Balloon Flights - Bakewell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.