We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cookery course” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hartingtons of Bakewell

Hartingtons of Bakewell
1st floor Rutland Mill, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1AQ, England
01629 888 586
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 5 Activities in Bakewell
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
Attraction details
Derbyshire, England
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great cookery course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I have been to Hartingtons before but never for one of their cookery courses. The one I attended yesteray was with Rachel Green, celebrity cook with 18 generations of farming bred into her bones. As I hoped, it was a great course. The venue itself is well equipped and well run by Julie and Chris, and Rachel herself did a brilliant job of guiding us through some of her favourite recipes. I'm hoping she will be back next year with a course on butchering and cooking game, but I'd be happy to attend any course she runs. Her humor, her way with flavors and the obvious love she has for food came through clearly.
I booked my wife on a bread course she wants to do before I left!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Cookery School”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Yesterday I attended my third cookery day at Hartingtons. This time a Baking Masterclass with Danny Bryden. I had the most wonderful day - Danny was superb and Chris and Julie ran the class seamlessly, as usual. I came home with the most delicious baking, which we are really enjoying. I am looking forward to another course in the autumn. I cannot recommend it highly enough, excellent tuition in a small, friendly group.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“So different!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

Through hartingtons we attended a foraging course last week. We went out as a small group with two experts discovering everything edible out there. The experts were fantastic, really knowledgeable and down to earth. After collecting various plants under supervision and having a good walk and an alcfresco lunch we went back to the venue where they cooked us up a storm...was really different and so interesting. Would recommend!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armitage, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Bakery Course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I attended a full day course on 23 May and had a great time and returned home with a basket of baked goods which I'd produced with my own efforts - with some help here and there. Chris and Julie run a great cookery school, they are very efficient but fiendly and the system runs like a Swiss watch! Andrew was our tutor and he really knows what he's doing and makes you feel that he is teaching you on a one to one basis - his enthusiam is infectious.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Baking Masterclass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I recently attended the Baking Masterclass with Danny Bryden. Like every other course that I have attended at Hartingtons it was brilliant – thanks to the people involved. It was a fast paced and productive day – I learnt lots and came home laden down with delicious food. Danny was excellent – encouraging, positive and supportive. Instructions were clear and easy to follow. I learnt to make strudel pastry and macaroons which have defeated me until now. It was an intense day and great fun. Danny was open and friendly – answering all our questions ,even those about the Bake Off, and shared lots of tips. She was really generous with her time, staying well after the official finish time to ensure that we all completed our bakes – and donated her fee to charity!
The venue is fantastic and Julie and Chris worked as hard as ever clearing up and ensuring that everyone enjoyed the day.
I would unreservedly recommend anyone – novice or experienced cook - to give it a try and I am looking forward to the next course.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hartingtons of Bakewell also viewed

Tideswell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Swadlincote, Derbyshire
 

Been to Hartingtons of Bakewell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hartingtons of Bakewell, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.