We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rajas

Rajas
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
01629-814336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 46 Restaurants in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Highly Recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

We have been using Raja over a year now and I can't recall a bad meal. We have had a number of take aways and dined in a number of times and the quality never changes - its excellent! The food is always fresh, served hot and ever so flavoursome! Plus the staff are very attentive, very friendly and nothing is ever a problem! My favourite on the menu is the Lamb Rogan Josh - last time I had the saag which was equally as good but its hard to taste all the menu when you have your favourite and its that good! Alternatively when being good I have gone for the Tandori Chicken served with salad - a rather generous portion and very filling. Overall I would highly recommend this to anyone living in or visiting Bakewell!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    125
    57
    14
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northants
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Ate here during a holiday in Bakewell was an amazing meal enjoyed by us both. The food was hot and tasty well worth a visit if your in the area we will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Indian Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

As a resident in Bakewell, this is the best Indian we have ever had. The previous decor has been refreshed giving a nice welcoming atmosphere, the staff are extremely helpful and knowledgable and the owner, Raj, takes personal interest in all of his customers. The food has always been excellent and my wife and I are regulars now and have tried numerous dishes on the menu and have never been disappointed. Keep it up Raj!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Re-used meat on kebab”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

So the place tries hard with decoration and visuals, but staff patently wanted to be somewhere else, so zero atmosphere.
Some of the food was 'ok', typical Indian, but one of the dishes, the 'Sheek Kebab' as the spelt it, was patently re-sued and minced up meat from another dish. You could patently tell this as by texture and the fact that it was astoundingly hot so my wife could not eat it.
The way it's supposed to work is if your cheff screws up is fess up, agree with the customer and replace the dish ASP.
So, I eat Phalls without too many issues, and this kebab made my eyes water. The 'manager' gave us the old runaround about they're all like that, which is patently a lie as being a butcher, it wasn't even lamb, it was some kind of minced chicken, that was patently lifted from another dish. I guess they think everybody is stupid.
Tables rammed too close together, felt claustrophobic.
We will never go back.
This is a crying shame as this group took over Max's Indian some time ago and they aren't a patch on that, they aren't a patch on your average high-street curry house in a competitive area. Avoid or find better, there are much better curry-houses in Bakewell.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York,Uk
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good curry, nice surroundings and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Ate here at the w/e with a couple of friends,
we were all impressed by the restaurant interior,
food and service was excellent,
staff were friendly,
would recommend,
advisable to book!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajas also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Rajas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rajas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.