We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top-notch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rajas

Rajas
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
01629-814336
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 61 Restaurants in Bakewell
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Sandy, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Top-notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Arriving in Bakewell on a Friday evening after a long drive, we wanted something quick and simple to eat and of course curry usually fits that bill. Raja's however is much more that just a curry house. The ambience is superb. A large airy dining room (one of my pet hates in restaurants is rubbing shoulders with my fellow diners) instantly afforded us a sense of welcome and relaxation. Drinks were ordered and arrived quickly without fuss and the waiting staff were extremely attentive without being obtrusive as we perused the menu. All the standard dishes were there, but there was a varied and interesting specials board with a bit more of a southern indian influence than is usual in most british curry houses. The food was superb. Everything gave the impression of a chef who enjoyed what he was doing as it tasted fresh and lght with the sauces and seasoning subtle rather than overpowering. I would thoroughly recommend a visit if you are ever in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    52
    12
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Finesse lets this restaurant down.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Living in the area and having been disappointed by all Indian restaurants in Matlock,I chanced upon Rajas in Tripadvisor reviews. First impressions were that the staff were very polite and the ambiance with the real wood fire was excellent. Service was first rate for drinks and starters.
I took to ordering from the flourescent specials board - a bit out of keeping with the rest of the pleasant decor - a fish Balti,priced £14.50 and asked for it to be more than medium spiced.
The other main was a Chicken Pasanda.
The Balti delivered the flavour I enjoy but with only five small pieces of soggy fish, it lacked the quality of an overpriced special dish. Having eaten the fish and some of the sauce,what was left behind was a large amount of large pieces of just cooked onion.The almonds in the Pasanda had been burnt leaving a bitter taste to a sauce that contained very little chicken.
The table was well laid out and I observed that new linen was used after diners had left the table.
However, paper serviettes stuffed into the wine glasses to be used in place of cloth napkins detracted from the dining experience.
The search continues for a decent curry experience in the Dales.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Great Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

What can I say. We had a wonderful meal at Rajas in Bakewell. Everything was spot on. Also, it was the first time we've had a curry in front of a roaring log fire! We will return.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great to find this in Bakewell”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Location is good, just over the bridge, car park either side of restaurant. Staff friendly and welcoming. Great place for the family with a good selection of fine curries. Food was excellent, the service was excellent. Will go back

8/10

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good place for a curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

A good place to get a decent curry. A good selection of fish specials and will accommodate preferences for spiciness/vegetarian etc. Staff are very friendly and helpful. Great with children.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajas also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Matlock, Derbyshire
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Rajas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rajas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.