We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something a little bit different” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tiroler Stuberl

Tiroler Stuberl
Water Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1EW, England
+44 1629 813899
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #29 of 61 Restaurants in Bakewell
Cuisines: Austrian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Tiroler Stuberl the Austrian Coffee shop and Sausage Importer. Tiroler Stuberl is a small Family Business. We have been serving the local community as well as many visitors to Bakewell for nearly 20 years with our ever expanding range of genuine Austrian Products. We pride ourselves on having probably the friendliest bunch of waitresses in town - so service with a smile is guaranteed.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Something a little bit different”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had been excited to try this place after reading some of the reviews. We visited late one rainy afternoon and ended up with the place to ourselves! We sat upstairs surrounded by cuckoo clocks and cowbells. After both ordering sausages, we didn't have to wait long for our food to arrive. Both were served on toasted baps, with bottles of mustard and ketchup to add to your own taste. I would have liked maybe some fried onions or a little salad to go with the sausage and bun? Also, my husband would have loved the opportunity to wash it down with some Austrian beer? Just a couple of suggestions, but we had a nice bite to eat nonetheless.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401Jules, Owner at Tiroler Stuberl, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your review and glad you enjoyed it. We can not expand the menu to do onions as we have such a tiny kitchen and the menu is now at its max and becoming licensed would be a whole new ballgame-my husband would probably agree with you though about the beer!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    23
    3
    2
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quirky in a good way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I've been to Tiroler Stuberl a few times over the years. I'm very fond of a walk from Monyash to Bakewell down Lathkill Dale, and getting the bus back to Monyash (last leaves before five so check time although a local pub once organised a taxi for me and my partner; a well spend tenner). Bakewell is a magical place.

Lots of cafes in Bakewell. There is something about Tiroler Stuberl. It's casual. The girls who wait do so with a rare charm. The food is good. After a long walk good. The Austrian sausages make my children eyes widen. Apropos a previous review. I don't know whether this is good Austrian food but I do known it's good food. I have been and shall return.

There is always food left over but thats because we always order too much. How can I possibly choose between the soup and the sausages. Chatty when you're paying. Friendly. These are the sort of people you can become friends with. High Recommended.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401Jules, Owner at Tiroler Stuberl, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you so much for such a lovely kind review and glad you and the family liked our sausages and soups.We have many families,walkers,campers and holiday makers who visit us yearly and its always nice when they return-it is the biggest compliment .Next time if you have any leftovers we will gladly wrap them up for you to take home :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to go for sonething different”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Super little Cafe serving Austrian style sausages etc . Could do with a lot more seating as it was packed when we visited. Great opportunity to buy Austruan/German food to take home . They have a chiller with sausages and lots of packs to make Semmelknödel , Gulash etc. they even sell ALMDUDLER !! :-))

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401Jules, Owner at Tiroler Stuberl, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your review.Glad you liked it.Yes we do sell Almdudler and it is becoming increasingly popular.Would love a bigger place but that means bigger rents-not keen in that one!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really good soup and sausages”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stumbled across this place when visiting Bakewell, there are loads of places to eat but this one intrigued us. First impressions aren't fab, downstairs is a bit cramped and messy. We got up the narrow staircase (luckily Baby Kalina was in his mei tai because you would not manage with a pram).

The decor is very, erm, Austrian! Many a cuckoo clock on the walls. We had a lovely greeting by the lady waitress who brought us an extremely retro-looking highchair, I was a little dubious but Baby Kalina seemed very happy in it. The menu looks great, although it is not particularly cheap. I opted for the sausage and bean soup, Mr Kalina went for a smoked sausage with bread and mustard.

The soup was a large bowl with a bread roll, plus they brought an extra bread roll for Baby. The soup was thick, hearty and delicious. I shared it with Baby who also loved it. Mr Kalina was very happy with his big sausage (so to speak) - a great smoky flavour and good mustard.

I also had a Christmas tea which was really nice, and Mr Kalina said his Cafe Salzburg was good.

It came to about £20 all together.

Payment was a bit of a faff, the man in the queue in front of us was ordering a load of sausages so we had to wait a while.

There was no toilet with baby changing but the waitress gave us the directions to the public toilets which include a very well-equipped and clean baby room.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401Jules, Owner at Tiroler Stuberl, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your review. It seems you enjoyed your visit in the end.We don't boast to be a big establishment but hope our size is part of the businesses charm. Hoping to get a new high chair but retro is in again so am confused.Sorry for the wait but sausage sales are getting very popular. Will try to be quicker :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Not the cheapest place to eat in Bakewell, but the nicest. Authentic Austrian cooking, sausage and bean soup to die for, fantastic toasties, good Cafe Salzberg, lovely, lovely ownersone of my favourite places.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
401Jules, Owner at Tiroler Stuberl, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Thank you for your great review. Its always great to see you and the family:)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiroler Stuberl also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Tiroler Stuberl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tiroler Stuberl, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.