We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“interesting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Haddon Hall

Haddon Hall
Haddon Hall, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1LA, England
44 1629 812 855
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 18 attractions in Bakewell
Type: Historic Sites
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Haddon Hall stands on a rocky outcrop overlooking the River Wye. One of the finest examples of a Medieval and Tudor manor house, open to visitors, with wonderful gardens.Visit Haddon Hall and truly step back in time. Visit our website for full details of opening times, prices, and our full list of special events.We also have a Restaurant selling fresh, local produce and a Gift Shop which carries a good range of locally sourced giftware.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Went once, very interesting inside, love to read about what has happened there and who used to live there.. it's a good house to go to if you're into that kind of thing.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

464 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    122
    37
    16
    10
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Waterlooville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Step back into time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Haddon Hall is intimate and beautiful without being ostentatious. Thoroughly enjoyed my visit and the staff were very knowledgeable about its history.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“And truly great day out.......... When there is an event on, at least”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Firstly, this isn't Chatsworth. Don't, whatever you do go, expecting a mini Chatsworth house. It has its own flavour and appeal. We went over a pre Christmas weekend when there was a Tudor group present so there was always some form of entertainment on. There is a large, easily accessible car park which I feel should really free to house visitors. There is a 200 metre walk from it to the house itself. It is an easy amble that wasn't either muddy or wet, even after a rainy couple of days. The decorations were almost all natural, consisting of trees decorated with sliced oranges, apples, courgettes and lemons. They looked lovely. Better though were all the blazing log fires. Wood was piled high in them and everyone felt obliged to stand in front of each one. Most of the rooms were fully accessible, no roped off areas or please don't touch. The food was of a good quality and surprisingly economical..... 5.95 for a hot turkey and cranberry baguette. Our visit lasted 5 hours after watching all the entertainment. Well worth it. I am sure that there Web Site will fill in missing details, but, we really enjoyed our day and will begging back next Christmas. But, as I said before. Don't expect another chatsworth!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Worth a visit, but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

We were taking our grandson (aged 1) from our home in Stoke to Doncaster and decided to call in at haddon Hall on the way to see the Christmas decorations. I did spot a Groupon offer so we got in for about half price.
I do think it is a bit cheeky to ask for £1.50 for parking when the only place you could be visiting was the Hall, but perhaps there is a reason for this.
At the entrance the situation regarding buggies was explained to us and we were quite happy to carry grandson around the Hall. The decorations are quite spectacular. Our grandson was very taken with the decorations on the trees, particularly those that he thought you could eat. The Charles Dickens reading session seemed really interesting but we felt it might have been a bit much for a one-year-old.
We had intended to stay for lunch but both the restaurant and cafe in the Courtyard were very busy so in the end we cut short the visit and headed off towards Chesterfield.
Tip: no child seats available in the cafe in the courtyard, only in the restaurant.
We will return in a couple of years when grandson will appreciate it a bit more but will try to arrive a bit earlier when it is possibly not so crowded.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trefnant, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fabulous day out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

as i'm a big Jane Austen fan i always wanted to go to Haddon Hall. in august of this year i finally managed to. it was absolutely stunning!! i t, the flowers were all in bloom, the exibition of Jane Eyre dresses was on and i was really excited!!! loved all the rooms! i imagend myself living there(wearing one the beautiful dresses, going around the garden, having a meal on the big table, enjoying company in the ball room etc). it's one of the most romantic places i've been so far. it would a lovely place to get married.
enjoyed every minute of the visit. absolutely stunning place!! would go back any time

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Haddon Hall also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Peak District National Park, England
Ilam, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Haddon Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haddon Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Haddon Hall to your Saves list