We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Limited tour of the house. Very dissapointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Chatsworth

Chatsworth
Chatsworth, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1PP, England
44 (0)1246 565300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Bakewell
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Biking, Walking, Dining, Hiking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The historic 16th-century home of the Duke and Duchess of Devonshire, set in the heart of the Peak District in Derbyshire. There is always something new to see and do in the house, garden, farmyard and adventure playground. Experience a taste of Chatsworth in our shops, restaurants and award winning Farm shop, or explore our beautiful 1000 acre park.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Limited tour of the house. Very dissapointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We visited as a family last week and were very dissapointed when we could only visit a few downstairs rooms in the house and that was a a very long queue all going the same way.
The Christmas decorations were good but i would have rather have had more time in the house than following a pantomine trail. We went on a wednesday and it was packed so I would not advise visiting during the week end if the week day is anything to go on.
The gardens and farm were good and we enjoyed them as the weather was bright but bitterly cold.
All in all, I now feel I would like to go back outside of the festive season to see more of the beautiful house.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChatsworthHouse, Public Relations Manager at Chatsworth, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy the Christmas decorations in the house. Each year we create a special Christmas theme in the lower floors of the house while we close the upstairs rooms for essential annual conservation. We endeavour to make it clear to visitors when we decorate the house for Christmas, and acknowledge that the decorations and theme may not be to everybody’s taste. We do hope that you will return to visit when we reopen on 10 March 2013, as we will have a huge selection of events and exhibitions all year for everybody to enjoy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,964
    603
    208
    100
    70
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Christmas day out with the family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Day out to see the christmans decorations. very interesting for our 3 years old. she loved dressing up. Staff very friendly, the farm wasnt brillant ive seen better. the farm shop in good. Only part of the house is open at this time of year

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltburn-by-the-Sea, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Stunning house and gardens”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Got tickets via a Travelzoo deal and thoroughly enjoyed our day.The house and gardens are just stunning. We spent so much time in the house and gardens we didn't have time to visit the farm shop. Only criticism is that there are too many people in the house at once so it's difficult to wander at leisure - standing in line was the most common.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
60 attraction reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Christmas at Chatsworth - bah humbug!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

We've been to Chatsworth several times before and enjoyed it. This was our first visit whilst the house was trimmed up for Christmas and it wasn't a special experience, it was so busy that the tour of the house was basically a long queue! The tour didn't include a lot of the rooms that are normally open, so disappointing in that respect. The Christmas decorations were very nice but not worth a special trip in my view. The Christmas market was very good and worth a good look round. Chatsworth itself is a special place and deserving of the publics subsidy, if you see it like that then the high prices charged are perhaps justified?

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Utterly fabulous way to get in the Christmas spirit !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Chatsworth is one of my very favourite places to visit, but at Christmas it is utterly beautiful and amazing. Chose to visit with friends by coach on this occasion. On arrival we were met with a member of staff who explained the whereabouts of everything - very professional. The Christmas Market was one of the best and all the food provisions were of high quality etc. We enjoyed a lovely delicious meal in the stables restaurant - returning after visiting the house for a nice slice of xmas cake and glass of wine. I have saved the best till last - the Christmas decorations - unsurpassed and utterly georgeous !
The snow queen and Peter pan were brilliant. The staff who work so hard deserve much praise , it must take them forever just to decorate the trees ! The dining room was amazing. I hope they know how luck they are to work in such an amazing place. Anyway - enough - take a trip ! Lol

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chatsworth also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Hathersage, Hope Valley
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Chatsworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chatsworth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.