We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Mistral

Le Mistral
Bridge Street, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1DS, England
01629 81 00 77
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 57 restaurants in Bakewell
Cuisines: French, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We got to Bakewell late in the afternoon after a walk, arriving at 4.30 to find most tea shops closed or closing! Le Mistral were still serving tea and coffees until 6pm. Great to get out of the cold and rain. Lovely surroundings, friendly staff, good snacks and hot drinks. Good value deal on a large hot drink and pastry for £2.95.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

71% Recommend
    81
    69
    26
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very Ill after eating mussels!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited one Wednesday lunch time at 1pm- the restaurant was deserted!there was not a single other diner to be seen. Hind sight is a wonderful thing may be we should have left there and then.
We ordered off the set menu, moules and frites and chicken on a bed of something. My mussels were pretty tasteless, I fact I enjoyed the French fries more. My friend enjoyed her chicken which was very tasty. We had chocolate cake for dessert which was delicious.
I was violently ill in the night- I suspect the mussels were to blame. So no further visits to the Mistral for me or mussels ever again.......

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“French based cuisine, good food & service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Good menu, based on French cuisine, helpful and prompt service. The mains we ordered were very tasty and good portions. Shame not more of the desserts were homemade but good cheeseboard. Overall 3 courses were about £30 a head with wine.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Snowy Night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Perfect night out during a very snowy weekend! Lovely food and great service. Best beef bourguignon I have ever tasted- much better than the one we had in Paris last month. French onion soup was great but just needed a tiny bit more Croque Monsieur. We used a gourmet society card so very good value!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great meal out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We were staying in Bakewell during a trip to the Derbyshire Dales and looked at the hotelmenu which seemed a bit ordinary and over-priced, so we had a quick walk round the town and alighted on "le Mistral". The food was excellent with a good choice and specials, the group of 4 had three bottles of house wine, starters, mains and three liqueurs alf for £122 + tip. The service was very friendly and the whole evening was enjoyable. There are 3 other such restaurants in the area, so we'll look out for the others if we are around Nottingham

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Mistral also viewed

Wirksworth, Derbyshire
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Le Mistral? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Mistral, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.