We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely cafe with a stunning view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hobb's Cafe

Hobb's Cafe
Monsal Head, Peak District National Park, Bakewell DE45 1NL, England
01629 640346
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 61 Restaurants in Bakewell
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: Cafe and craft centre with stunning views over Monsal Dale.
Sheffield
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe with a stunning view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I'm suprised by the negative comments here, particulary the one about racism because I've visited this cafe many times over several years with groups of friends from China, Taiwan, India, Iran, Iraq and other places and we've always found it to be friendly. Some shortbread once arrived at our table on the house which was a nice gesture. The food and cake is always nice although a bit on the pricey side. The craft shop inside the cafe makes an interesting addition. The location is stunning, my favourite place in the Peak District and my favourite cafe.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raylambe, Owner at Hobb's Cafe, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thanks for the comments. I've eventually decided to respond to the racism one if only to help explain but it still saddens us even now. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    10
    3
    1
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Cracking Cuppa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

Only had a pot of Tea, but was very nice and warming on a cold day out.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raylambe, Owner at Hobb's Cafe, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous cakes!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

After a long walk with the family this place did the job nicely. Definitely worth a visit for some good food. We’ll be stopping by again.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raylambe, Owner at Hobb's Cafe, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Lovely spot with a warm welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Friendly staff, delicious food and an inviting atmosphere make this place an absolute delight to visit. I’m very surprised by the negative comments on here, the staff were very friendly and obliging.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raylambe, Owner at Hobb's Cafe, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Inpolite staff, is not good service.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Having a holiday home near Monsal Head hotel, we often walk up and have an ice cream, which is fine from the van, but going into the cafe, is something I dislike. I stood in the que and waited my turn, but when it came to being served, the man, completely ignored me and turned to the person behind me, spending a good ten minutes talking to him- after he'd ordered. Then a couple of weeks later we come back and order and ice cream, and after asking me a few timesif he had the right flavour, he still gave us the wrong ice cream. One tip, for Hobbs cafe: Only be RUDE, if you can back it up.
Its a complete shame the service is so bad. Service with a smile wont go amiss.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raylambe, Owner at Hobb's Cafe, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Sometimes we get it wrong. I don't remember this at all but I can only apologise and ask you to give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hobb's Cafe also viewed

Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
Bakewell, Peak District National Park
 

Been to Hobb's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hobb's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.